Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Virgin Atlantic Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Virgin Atlantic Airways Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

VIRGIN ATLANTIC AIRWAYS Upper Class Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009 by R Kahn

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I found the seat quite comfortable, though a bit narrow at the shoulders in recline. In flat bed mode, I found the shoulder room more than adequate. They make much of their limo service, but I was told my Upper Class fare did not qualify for it. I appreciated the privacy of their shell seat.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 December 2008 by Gilbert Schwartz

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat configuration in upper class is similar to Air New Zealand. It leaves much to be desired. It is too narrow. It reclines only slightly so you have a choice of either sitting in a seat with a slight recline or converting it into a bed. The whole process is awkward and uncomfortable. Once converted it is difficult to get out. There are no armrests and little storage area. The entertainment control is awkward to use and far to complicated. I hope they scrap the concept and return to conventional seats.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   20 June 2008 by Jonathan McNeill

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Upper Class LHR-LAX. Lovely check-in, awesome lounge at LHR, friendly staff - but the seats! Upper Class was not full, so I took 17K since it was last row of forward cabin - a window, and close to the Bar area and toilets - wrong move on my part - way too much traffic. This was the first time with these new seats - hated it! Felt like there were too many rows "crammed" into the cabin. Controls, table, TV monitor etc very awkwardly placed, pillows stowed behind seats so you have to reach over and "hunt" for them, duvets in bags in the overhead were bulky and not worth hunting down. I disliked NOT having a window to look out - the way the seats are positioned it is virtually impossible to be comfortable and look out at the same time. I don't think I will book Upper Class again. I think I prefer BA's Club World over this. I also flew Business Class on Lufthansa LAX-FRA and while the seating and cabin are much more "traditional" compared to Virgin, the comfort level and space surpasses Virgin's Upper Class.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   20 June 2008 by D McLean

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-LAX-LHR Used upper class for the third time in 8 months out of Heathrow to USA. Common knowledge that pod layout is not very good when travelling with your spouse, although I suppose some may find that a bonus! The massage is a gimmick and I was told earlier this month on my last trip that Virgin are doing away with this. I hope that they spend the saved cash to finance better food. Over the past couple of years the meals served up on transatlantic flights has steadily reduced in quality and volume. All in all you do get reasonable value, but with BA and Air New Zealand flying direct to LAX you do get much better food and wine for the same price and in Air New Zealands case, the same pods.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   20 June 2008 by G Hool

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

HR - CPT - LHR via Upper Class. Bed and seat both reasonably comfortable - just a fag to get out of either when you need to convert it to a bed/seat. Bed could do with being 6inches longer, so that a person of 6 feet can stretch without touching the foot stool. Drinks table is useless as is the light, both of which get in the way of each other. TV screen could do with some vertical adjustment so you can get adjust it when eating the poor food Virgin have started serving. Design of cabin, means all seats face inward, which if you want to look out of the window means you face the prospect of a stiff neck. Design also limits conversation with your travelling companion, though to some this may be a distinct advantage. Overall the British Airways Club World package is looking far more attractive.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   24 January 2008 by A Jarrett

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Virgin Upper Class has good and bad points. The folded down bed is a little on the firm side . The positioning of the reading lamp and drinks tray is pure bad design. I did feel a little strange with my back to the window, however travel in the 747 nose-cone was a revelation for cabin quietness and this compensated for the strange angle. The main thing I noticed with the seat angle was at meal and drink times it did feel rather like we were patients in an upmarket nursing home sitting around the edge of the room in armchairs waiting for nurse and watching each other eat and drink. While the entertainment was good, the picture quality was poor.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 December 2007 by Colin Crabbe

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I used Virgin years ago where the seating standards were excellent. My wife and I have just returned from Mumbai, and had a dreadful trip both ways. The seating is a herring-bone design so that you cannot see out of the windows. I found the seats extremely hard and when reclined uncomfortable - being very narrow with no room to turn over. The reading light is set at an angle that is impossible to use while the drinks tray is simply out of reach.


VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   27 November 2007 by Spencer Dusebout

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LAX-JNB Fantastic lounges to start the experience. The seats were comfortable to sit and read/relax. The bed is a little hard, but very roomy. Entertainment fantastic, as the service. Food average, and the treatment/massage is a joke.




 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review





Earlier reviews have been archived (prior to the date of last review above).
















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.