Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Virgin Atlantic Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Virgin Atlantic Airways Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

VIRGIN ATLANTIC AIRWAYS Upper Class Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Young

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

New type "beds". Really, really hard and uncomfortable seats, hostess has to come and place in position as no motor now - really unimpressed. Not much room to move in seat, table small, food not good, nothing good to say about this experience.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-300

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Mathieson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Very good experience with Virgin, even with older seat/cabin. Price lower than competitors, comfort equal to Air Canada pods (better for sleeping than AC pods - comfortable mattress by flipping over seat) not as comfortable sitting (AC pods allow multiple positions). Better than British Airways - their seats too low to the ground, cabin too big - part of a crowd, and service better. Food good to very good. Food service time was not overly long, left time for sleep. Video a bit limited, but good.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C Gaunt

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-JFK return on new A330. I'm a Flying Club Gold cardholder 6 years running so I'm a Virgin loyalist, and was keen to try the new A330. My advice - avoid it entirely. The new Upper Class is pretty much the same seat but the cabin is now very cramped - there are two middle sections instead of just one, so you always have people across from you; there is a glass screen on your seat side so whereas before you could settle in and have the privacy of not seeing anyone, now when you're sat you have a direct line of sight to no fewer than 12 other passengers. And for the first time I can ever remember, the overhead bins in Upper Class were completely full! There was no room for my stuff and I had to store it in Premium. The FAs shared with me how much they dislike the new layout as they're always tripping over the passengers. I spent the whole flight at the bar because all the constant commotion around my seat area felt like a homeless shelter.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

16 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Goldberg

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The window is completely out of bounds which is unfortunate as we were flying over Australia on a day flight to Hong Kong going back and I love looking out the window - you have to crawl bodily up to the window to look out. The seat is narrow and has only one arm rest, so expect cramp in both arms for both reasons. There is no where to put stuff on boarding as the light blocks the tiny drink tray which is situated behind your head. Storage space around the seat is minimal so when boarding grab the safety instructions, duty free magazine etc out of the space provided and throw it into the overhead locker or you will find no where to put anything. The seat refuses to recline after take off and not flat until a hostess has come and set the thing - after which forget eating in bed, as the tray won't work while the bed is flat. Watching movies is out of the question while eating as the screen goes over the tray limiting how much can be on the tray, so best to leave the screen on the side wall and crane your neck to see it. Food and service was appalling simply appalling and I will probably fly Cathay Pacific next time if it isn't booked out again during Chinese New Year.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Sanders

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Was upgraded from Premium on Sydney to Heathrow. Slept entire first leg. Great bed length for 5'10 woman. Preferred it to Etihad in length and comfort. No complaints. Fluffy duvet and proper pillow make all the difference!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Cravino

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seats 1D and 2D hopeless for overnight flight if you want to sleep. Toilet directly behind your head. Constant traffic from both aisles, noise and light from door opening, closing, locking and unlocking; These seats are in the centre and have no means of controlling air overhead. Got very hot and had to get cabin crew to adjust cabin temperature. Food and service really good. Seat/bed comfortable but ruined by its location. Didn't mind the herringbone formation although not so good for couples who want to chat.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-300

Date

26 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Kite

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Not convinced that the new herringbone system is right. Craning of neck to watch landing/takeoffs is a bit strange, it feels like a forbidden view. Brilliant sight of the Upper Class cabin at night with all the beds and duvets laid out. It looked like a morgue. The alternative view/feeling is that of sitting in a torpedo tube waiting to fired out! Brilliant service by staff who have keen sense of humour.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

16 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

L Dennick

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new style upper class seats and cabin are aesthetically more pleasing on the eye but not quite as functional as the older style. The aircraft I flew on was only 2 weeks old (Golden Girl) and already the LED mood lighting didn't work properly. It was a night flight and the crew couldn't dim the lights along the right hand side of the cabin or reset the system. The old style upper class seats converted to lie flat electrically at the press of a button. The new style seats are a more manual affair. Even the crew struggled with them and had to help most passengers. The new style bar doesn't work quite as well as the old conventional type. Drinks were stowed away rather than being on display in the shelving/racks as seen on Virgin Atlantic website. The drinks, snacks, evening meal and breakfast was great as was the attentive crew.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

30 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Michael Sun

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-HKG Business Class. The herringbone seating was fair but no privacy, people walking down the aisles can see you. Snack and dinner was great, crew friendly, toilets clean. Sleeping was quite good, fully-flat bed. Inflight entertainment very good. I would recommend this seat more for singles.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Mike Flynn

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-NRT, limousine service is horrendous, was meant to pick me up at 9am from my home in Hertfordshire, Limousine did not show up at all - regardless of how many phone calls I made to Virgin it still didn't show up. Virgin's customer service at a cost of £200 let me change my flight for the following day. Finally 24 hours later the limo turned up to pick me up. LHR check-in a free for all - took me 45 minutes to check-in, so much for designated areas for upper class. Didn't get chance to use the lounge as the check-in agent had ran out of fast-track tickets so had to go through the normal line. By the time I had checked in and got through security I had 10 minute before boarding. Eventually after 4 hours delay we boarded, was in seat 7A. Seats are very poor and not good business class seats. Have to strain your neck right round just to get a look out of the window, you cannot do this for longer than 30 seconds. Tried to get to sleep straight away after take off, had to wait 1hr 30 for someone to come and make the bed up, also had to wait 30 minutes for a whiskey! Tried to get to sleep but couldn't - anyone over 6ft, your feet stick off the end of the bed and every 5 minutes you get hit by someone going to the toilet or one of the cabin crew hitting you. Can't get to sleep as the privacy of the seat behind you and in front of you is poor, width of the seat is average and comfort was like sleeping on the pavement. Eventually got to sleep for several hours in the worst position for sleeping, when I woke I tried to get some food but was told that no food was being served until breakfast which was in 5 hours time, but could have a cold sandwich and snacks. I was so disappointed with the service that Virgin offered I decided to change my flight for the way back to ANA.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Formby

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-SYD. If you are planning to do any work in business, forget about it. There is no privacy, you stare across at everyone else. Shared cabin with a group of other passengers getting drunk and talking raucously all flight. Seat is very difficult to operate and no help from crew. Have flown Premium Economy with Virgin Atlantic before and that was better. Also flew business on United and Swiss on the same trip. United had an old plane but was pretty good. Cabin crew very friendly. Swiss the best by a long way - helped that it was half empty. Sent a complaint through to Virgin Atlantic and heard nothing back.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011 by Tim Best

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Upper Class, just ok for width, leg room not long enough, could not use skybed as my legs stuck out into very narrow corridor which annoyed the cabin staff who could not get past. Strange arrangement in herringbone pattern where you could not look out of window without craning your neck round into a painful position. Service was OK, a very small upper class area with no privacy available. Not enough storage space when you had your hands full, it was a bit of a balancing act. I found that if I folded the TV screen out I could use the recess to place my drink! All in all a better all round seat than the appalling Premium Economy I have used before.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340/600 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 July 2011 by D Hughson

Aircraft

A340/600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat was comfortable and can be reclined whilst taking off. The seat was easy to change into the bed with loads of room and the sleep suits a great idea.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by Ed Riseman

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I was in Upper Deck behind the cockpit. Economy was in the rear of the Upper Deck which I found a bit strange. Service, meals and IFE were ok and acceptable - nothing special but fine. I was a bit disappointed with the seat, having never flown Upper before I was not familiar with the seat and it's workings. I had to struggle with the table and getting it flat, comfort wise it was fine and sleeping for a 5"11 man was no problem.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011 by Y Sajid

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat converts into a flat bed for sleeping, albeit tight for space around your arms/shoulders. The As a seat itself it is less comfortable. Also the seat/ cabin materials looked very tired - in need of updating with worn leather and cracked plastic. Entertainment screen and remote were in poor condition. Good privacy, albeit all the seats are positioned at a specific angle, which I found fine but may not suit all tastes.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011 by R Turner

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat was comfortable although storage around the seat was a problem (no laptop drawer as in BA business). If you intend to use the table to eat, remember to push the screen all the way out, otherwise it gets interesting trying to lift your tray out of the way. Seat operation was a breeze and the general sitting positions are comfortable, except if you want to look out of the window. Didn't have a problem with fixing the bed as it is straight forward. The sleeping position was reasonably comfortable, but the seat belt on the ottoman was annoying at times. The flat bed did seem wider at the shoulder than BA. If possible get a seat away from the bar if you want to sleep. Inflight entertainment system was OK for choice but some better instructions would have been helpful.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340-600 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011 by T Rooke

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Never again, the cabin held about 45 seats all at an angle of about 45 degrees, very low with no privacy at all. If you have a window seat it's the back of your head that faces the window. Seats were semi upright which converted to flat bed, I couldn't be doing with making my own bed or having it made for me while I stood and waited so I elected to sleep with the seat as reclined as far as possible-my mistake as it doesn't recline very much at all! I had about 1 hours sleep between Cape Town-Heathrow. My wife and I had been allocated seats facing each other but due to the stupid angle of the seats I could only see her feet! Luckily 2 other passengers disliked their seats so we swapped. These seats were next to each other, only snag was the sidescreens are so high we couldn't see or speak to each other without undoing our seatbelts which enabled us to sit on the edge of our seat. The steward suggested my wife could sit on my footstool if we wanted to talk or share a meal - wonderful! The overall look of the cabin was similar to that of a cattle stall! Virgin Upper Class - don't make me laugh!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 July 2010 by M Tyson

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I was a little disappointed with Upper Class. I could not find a comfortable position with the seats and would prefer direct control over the full recline rather than having to call and attendant for assistance. It was a somewhat cramped feeling and the angled seats don't seem to work for me. The service was pleasant but food quality was average. I will revert to Premium Economy on future trips.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010 by D Davidson

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Sat in the quieter section behind the bar row 13 upper class which was anything but quiet. Lots of passing traffic to/from kitchen also passengers in premium economy coming through to use the toilets. Seat narrower than expected. The foot rest is supposed to double up as a chair for friend to sit and chat with you is so small that it's virtually unusable. No overhead storage. Old loop entertainment system. Row 4K on return same A340 , more private as not facing anyone, overhead storage, noted that middle row didn't have storage in this front section either. Old loop entertainment system still. Not possible to charge laptops system as its not available on some routes, where it is available you have to buy special charge leads for £63 GBP from skyshop.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by James Wyatt

Aircraft

A40-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR - Nairobi. The lounge at T3 is fantastic - plenty to do, even had my shoes cleaned. The time disappeared quickly. We had our three young kids with us, so slightly nervous of their behaviour, but they fell asleep almost immediately (night flight). I can't make my mind up about the Upper Class seats. It's a clever design but not quite long enough for my 6'1" body! Shoulder space when lying flat is good though. Virgin staff are nearly always nice pretty young girls and often very good, but on this flight they were clearly tired and service was sloppy. The food was unremarkable. The bar can be fun if there are other willing passengers. Overall it is a really good business class service. BA has better trained staff and slightly better food, but given the choice, I'd use Virgin.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Andy Baker

Aircraft

A340-60

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Found the seat highly uncomfortable due to the fixed recline position, It becomes a pain when you want to convert to a bed as this requires cabin attendant assistance. Poor design.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Ben Lovejoy

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I want to sleep, and the mattress is much better than leather seating for that. Having to get up first is a slight pain, but I tend to just go to the bathroom when I'm ready to sleep and ask a FA to make up the bed, then it's done when I return. The pod design is fantastic for privacy, though awkward if you want to talk. The width is good in bed mode, slightly cramped in seat mode, but I love every seat having direct aisle access.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Gerry Ryan

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Upper Class seats are good when fully flat - plenty of room to lie fully flat and comes with a nice quilt and pillow. When configured as a seat you can recline for take off and landing - you do have to engage in some contortion however to look out the window. Privacy good and cabin is generally quiet unless you are sitting near the bar. The seat is a bit funny when in seat mode in that you do not really have a right arm rest (seat 7K) and storage of personal items is an issue as the little section designed for this is too small. I stored my passport there and to my dismay discovered that it had been eaten by the seat - had to dismantle the seat to retrieve it.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Prajeet Chadha

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

DEL-LHR Upper Class. The length of seat is good however while sleeping I found the ottoman stool which forms part of the flat bed very uncomfortable.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by E Hutchins

Aircraft

A340-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ORD-LHR in 14K. When flat this bed is as good as any business class I have tried. But the reading light when reclined, not sleeping, is useless. The water tray is oddly placed and there is little to no storage for a book, eyeglasses or such. One needs to get completely up into the aisle when converting it to a bed which is a little inconvenient. You are either flat or at 45 degrees. The ability to have someone dine with you, by them sitting on your footrest, is nice. Privacy good. Donít bother trying to look out the window; itís not possible.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by A Mitchell

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is fairly comfortable and reclines fully flat, however, to do this, you have to leave your seat and move all your personal belongings. The seat is great once it is a bed and offers plenty of space. A good IFE available and upper deck was quiet. Privacy was fantastic; however, because of the odd layout of the seats, it was awkward talking to my wife. Service was OK but not brilliant and the some with the food. As a whole, I think British Airways is better as the seat is more comfortable and has better service, food and a good level of privacy.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by T Sakyamuni

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is fully flat - this is key since I tend to slide down the seat throughout the flight if it's angled. Privacy is great, with each set in an individual pod - very comfortable and cozy. They give you down duvets. Seat width and length are great for me (I am 5'8" and pretty thin). Individual pods are not great if you are traveling with a partner you want to talk to. It is somewhat annoying that the seat has to be physically flipped to go from lounge to bed mode.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by E Hutchins

Aircraft

A340-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ORD-LHR in 14K. When flat this bed is as good as any business class I have tried. But the reading light when reclined, not sleeping, is useless. The water tray is oddly placed and there is little to no storage for a book, eyeglasses or such. One needs to get completely up into the aisle when converting it to a bed which is a little inconvenient. You are either flat or at 45 degrees. The ability to have someone dine with you, by them sitting on your footrest, is nice. Privacy good. Donít bother trying to look out the window; itís not possible.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by A Mitchell

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is fairly comfortable and reclines fully flat, however, to do this, you have to leave your seat and move all your personal belongings. The seat is great once it is a bed and offers plenty of space. A good IFE available and upper deck was quiet. Privacy was fantastic; however, because of the odd layout of the seats, it was awkward talking to my wife. Service was OK but not brilliant and the some with the food. As a whole, I think British Airways is better as the seat is more comfortable and has better service, food and a good level of privacy.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by T Sakyamuni

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is fully flat - this is key since I tend to slide down the seat throughout the flight if it's angled. Privacy is great, with each set in an individual pod - very comfortable and cozy. They give you down duvets. Seat width and length are great for me (I am 5'8" and pretty thin). Individual pods are not great if you are traveling with a partner you want to talk to. It is somewhat annoying that the seat has to be physically flipped to go from lounge to bed mode.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by M Caselton

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats 5k and 6K - very private as there is no one facing you. No noises around as restrooms and bar are close but not close enough. Seats are very comfortable and a must for a long flight.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   14 May 2009 by Byron Chapman

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

As a bed I find this seat more comfortable than BA due to the width at the top of the shoulders. I have broad shoulders and BA was not wide enough. The Upper deck on the 747 receives wonderful service and also quiet upstairs. Upper class seats allow for privacy, but not good when travelling with a partner.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009 by Dean Hassan

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

On the whole, the Upper Class seat was good, better than some business class seats. The bar at the back is nice to sit and have a chat with other passengers and staff are attentive. The seat is comfortable leather, relatively spacious and opens up nice and long. Saying that, there were a couple of irritating things about the seat that I didn't like. Having to get out of the bed to turn it back into a seat to sit or to use the table for meals is irritating. It would be nicer to have something more in between (sliding seat or better located table) *The high sides/angling of the seats and the number of seats in the cabin make it feel quite cramped compared to other business classes, especially when disembarking or when lots of people are moving about. The little utility holder box thing and drink tray are not volumous or ideally placed. The drink tray is particular is not ideally placed, especially when reading at night and having to open/close/move and place a drink on it. I found myself fighting with this quite a few times (it won, naturally). When sleeping, I kept banging my head against the vent thing below where the bottle of water is kept. It was probably me sleeping badly but it did wake me up on a few occasions. On the whole, as business classes go, the ability to stretch out and relax are welcome on long journeys.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009 by P Penteado

Aircraft

B747/A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The adequacy of these seats depends greatly on your size. If you have broad shoulders, avoid them as you will be very cramped. There is nowhere to put your arms, a wall on each side of the seat. Smaller persons will probably be quite comfortable. Sleeping is a bit better, although very awkward to convert from on position to the other. You need to get out of the seat, get your things out of the way, and the seat literally flips over, the original seat gone and an ironing board available for you to sleep on, thin mattress, only really usable with the duvet.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 February 2009 by P Walsh

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The limo is a great touch and the Club House at Terminal 3 Heathrow is fantastic. Large, great food, relaxing and staff very attentive. On board, sitting in the seat probably not as comfortable as BA but once you lie flat its larger and more relaxing - particularly with the duvets and soft pillows. Sleeper suit also a nice touch. Entertainment good and Virgin has that trendy factor that BA does not have. The onboard bar is nice - I dont use it, but its a good touch.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009 by Linda Brand

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat 3K. The seat width is good, but the recline is limited. However, with the ottoman I thought it was quite comfortable after all. I reclined it to the max, and placed my legs on the ottoman. I don't know what VS thought about when placing their reading light and the drink table. They are both placed in some odd places, and the reading light is almost useless. Turning your seat into a flat bed was easy, but the bed is too hard for a good nights sleep. Easy to get it back to a seat again also. Food onboard was of Economy standard!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009 by Penny Wise

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Virgin personnel booked me to be opposite my partner, but on this configuration, seats 3A and D are not opposite each other. Herringbone design feels crammed and one toilet for so many passengers at the front end meant queuing as well as a constant throng of passengers hanging around waiting for it. The only other alternative was to walk beyond the bar/galley and line up there. So few toilets for so many business class passengers is bad planning. For a night flight they seemed unprepared. I had hoped for a sleep suit but 'sorry none have been packed'. Flat bed not wide enough at shoulders and too hard to sleep on side or front. FA forgot my breakfast order and couldnt find another menu. They seemed rushed and not able to handle a full upper class cabin. Shame you cant watch the screen whilst lying flat.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009 by Michael Samios

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The Upper class cabin is comfortable. One disappointing feature is the seats do not fully recline flat. When you want to engage the flat position you have to get up a flick your seat completely over. this is a bit annoying when you are nearly asleep and all you want is to push a button to fully recline. The capsules are snug and very narrow in the seating position. In the sleeping position they open up a little more in width. The seat when fully flat is firm but comfortable. Traveling solo these seats are great, however if traveling with a partner or family there is limited ability to converse in comfort.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC UPPER CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 January 2009 by Pete Young

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I quite liked the arrangement of the beds and the privacy they offered though obviously not so good for chatting to colleagues etc. I'm afraid that following my meal at JFK I wasn't very hungry on the plane and the "light" meal really was pretty basic and not a good advert for business class meals. The breakfast wasn't even offered to me as I was asleep even though I'd asked to be woken for breakfast. What else? The ease with which I got to sleep on the beds surprised me given some of the reviews. In fact it could be argued that the comfort of the seats/beds meant I could not take full advantage of the entertainment system which seemed pretty nifty and stocked with lots of stuff I wouldn't have mind seeing. The FA were pretty good except for the breakfast incident but since I spent most of the journey asleep I guess I wouldn't have noticed if it had been indifferent either.






 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.