HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | United Airlines

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for United Airlines First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

UNITED AIRLINES First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




"there is no room to stretch one's legs"
Aircraft:Boeing 757-200 Seat Type:First Class
Date:5 February 2015 Reviewer:J Jacobson
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
The new flatbed business/first seats on United's 757's are awful. The entertainment system is good, but the seats themselves are awful. The recline is awkward, the positioning limited. They are far too narrow. But the worst part is that there is no room to stretch one's legs - unless you are one-legged or weigh under 100 pounds. This is try whether lying flat or just trying to recline. On redeyes, don't plan to sleep because you really can't.


"narrow compared to other Business seats, but better than United 777"
Aircraft:Boeing 787 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:5 February 2015 Reviewer:Neil Moody
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
MEL-LAX-MEL, narrow compared to other Business seats, but better than United offering of the 777. Meal and service pretty standard for United. Tip, although not obvious the side arm rest has a button and it drops down. Much more comfortable for a large chap like myself to manage some sleep. Try and get the bulk head seats as you get full width ottoman for your feet.


"seat was comfortable, IFE and food excellent"
Aircraft:Boeing 767-300 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:5 February 2015 Reviewer:J Deehatch
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
LHR-ORD-IND-ORD-JAX-ORD-LHR. First experience of Business class across the pond so not much to compare against. The service was excellent, seat was comfortable, IFE good and food excellent. I am 6'1" and not at my slimmest but I was able to stretch out comfortably when the seat was in bed mode. I was able to comfortably sleep on my side although there is not enough room to back sleep unless you sit as if you are about to head down a water slide.


"Worst business class seats out of all the major airlines"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:5 February 2015 Reviewer:S Clark
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Worst business class seats out of all the major airlines. Half the seats you must sit backwards. Some seats are 4 in a row. If you didn't get the aisle seat you have to step over someone to use the restroom. If you did get the aisle seat you get woken up by someone stepping over you.


"it's supposed to lie flat but mostly wouldn't move at all"
Aircraft:Boeing 757-200 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:28 January 2015 Reviewer:J Linder
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
EWR-SNN "Business First" on a 2-class 757. In a word: heinous. Supposed lie-flat seat smaller and less comfortable than many economy seats I've seen in years past. Maybe it's supposed to lie flat but mostly wouldn't move at all. Aircraft was really filthy, service surly and indifferent, food all but inedible, drink choices inferior to economy class from 1990s. Entertainment system had a good choice of movies but remote was only partially functional. My recommendation: if you have to fly United, just stay home. United really doesn't seem to care how bad their service has become. American legacy carriers in general have become a global embarrassment.


"Shocked by the narrowness of the seats"
Aircraft:Boeing 787 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:28 January 2015 Reviewer:J Cheung
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Chicago to Hong Kong. Business class in 2-4-2 configuration. Shocked by the narrowness of the seats and no privacy, no pod. Lie-flat but difficult to turn around. Service was good though. Very attentive attendants. Would fly another airline.


"the worst in the industry"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:9 January 2015 Reviewer:L Huang
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
TPE-SFO, front and back facing seats, 2-4-2 configuration, 25% more seats cramped in the same amount of space as other 777 products, the worst in the industry. Sitting at 9c facing rear of airplane, I was starring at passengers at 9c and 9a plus few passengers in Economy class and shoulder to shoulder to 9d. No privacy at all! Foot rest is angled. Uncomfortable to sleep.


"I need to switch to a different airline"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:9 January 2015 Reviewer:A Nur
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flew C class FRA to SFO on Nov 16. My foot rest was broken, the restrooms were filthy, the service was very rude, and they ran out of meals. I need to switch to a different airline.


"seats are extremely comfortable for sitting"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:9 January 2015 Reviewer:T Allen
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
We were a bit concerned about the B777 Business class service from SYD to LAX. The seats are actually extremely comfortable for sitting. In the flat sleeping position, they are adequate. For someone 5'9" and 190 pounds they are reasonable in terms of length and width but just barely with respect to width. My wife who had flown Business class on long-haul Qantas and Emirates said their seats in the sleep mode are significantly better for sleeping. She wasn't able to sleep in the United one due to the narrowness.


" Quite comfortable for my height (5'6") and wide enough"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:9 January 2015 Reviewer:R Bharat
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flew EWR-BOM & back in BusinessFirst. United lounge in EWR is reasonably large but pretty ordinary. No hot food buffet and only a couple of wines free - have to fork out for anything else which is "premium". Inflight was better. This is a legacy Continental route - so ex-Continental aircraft & crew. 2-2-2 configuration in Business. Window seat on the way out. Quite comfortable for my height (5'6") and wide enough. There is some storage in the seat area - shoes/small backpack under the ottoman, magazine pouch by the side which can take Ipad or phones and spectacles can be put in the area beside the headrest which is where they keep the amenity kit and headphones. IFE was OK - not exactly spoilt for choice. Food was good and offered Salad, ntree, Cheese service, Ice cream . A bit annoying to have to jump over the sleeping aisle passenger when I had to get out. Bathrooms were sparsely appointed - nothing other than soap. The amenity kit was OK and had basics. Breakfast service an hour before arriving was good. Return service was almost identical except that I was in aisle. Mumbai terminal vastly better than the previous one and is architecturally quite stunning. The services are better as well - immigration & baggage services quick. Signage is adequate. The Mumbai lounges (run by airport) far better than the EWR one. Hot buffet + other selections and a wider selection of spirits available free. Wi-fi worked well. Didn't use in-flight wi-fi in either direction but is was available for $16.99.


UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 737-800

Date

10 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Bailey

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Short flight from LAS to SFO seats 3A and 3B. Really pleasant cabin, good seats no problems for a short domestic business class seat, as usual fairly indifferent US cabin attendant service, but I am now well used to that. What was really a surprise is that in LAS we were not able to use the United Business lounge, even though we had a Business class ticket! Like many European and US carriers United have an awful lot of catching up to do compared with the ultra high service with the Middle Eastern carriers.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Bert Schaap

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Was scheduled to fly la Premiere class on AF, but diverted to Frankfurt and ended up wit United Global First. Seat is OK, although the staff does not make up your bed, there is no changing room, the food was terrible and the attention given by the staff worse than many airlines provide in economy class. On top of that, no priority boarding, no guiding through security and pp control, no limo service to and from the plane. This service is not up to standard, compared to other airlines.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C Chuto

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

People that might be OK with United's astounding 8-across seating in biz class: short, thin, side sleepers with no need to store anything and don't mind others stepping over them (or stepping over others) and don't care much about privacy. For the rest of us, the cost of these seats compared to the 9-across, 2cm narrower coach class is jaw-dropping. Sure it's lie flat, but it's a lie to call it business class.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-400

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Coburn

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Houston to Munich in seat 1D which is the center seat in a 2x1x2 configuration. For anybody under six feet tall, these seats would be fine, however, they are only 75" long when laid flat, and 21" wide. This is a little tight for tall guys. I am 6'2" and it was not possible to lay on my back without bending my knees. Seat privacy is okay, but you are out in the middle of things in this single seat row. Nobody to climb over, or climbing over you though, which is nice. Overall a good experience, but I would not choose a routing with this aircraft again.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

M Woolman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The interior was dingy, very narrow lie flat seats should be called no sleep seats, and the attendants were apathetic at best. The seats made funny sounds and were jerky when reclining. Funny yet sad watching attendant uncoil and install power cables to run tablets to provide in-flight entertainment. Food was mediocre to poor at best. Seriously, avoid this plane at all costs. Wish we could give negative stars for seat comfort categories.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 787

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Mullet

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

This review applies to both the United 787 Bus Class Seats and some of their 777 Bus Class seats (at least the ones that came from Continental such as those on the IAH-NRT route, and I believe their new planes): 2-2 2- config with angled seats. These seats are much better than United's original flat bed seats in the 2-4-2 config, which I hated. And by angling the seats I think they get 4 rows of 6 in about the same room as 3 rows of 8, so no loss. The main improvements are in additional seat width and additional space for your stuff. Also no reverse facing seats.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

7 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Swart

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

EWR to ZRH. Very friendly service, good food. Seat is relatively comfortable, but if you have a window seat it could be cramped to get out. IFE is good without being great. The 767 shows signs of ageing, but the middle row in business is the best bet, as you have no one next to you.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-400

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Gibson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flew from Rome FCO to EWR, seats 3K and 3L. 2x1x2 configuration. Had read prior to travel that the person in the window seat has to climb over the person in the aisle seat. Definitely true. Seat was comfortable, but in the full flat position I had to bend my legs a bit (I'm 6'1"). The seat width seemed only very slightly wider than a normal seat, although the armrests are wide. Seat controls are a little confusing at first. My biggest criticism is the location of the "storage shelf", which is located over your shoulder and behind you. To access it you must almost fully turn around in your seat. The problem here is that this is where the jack for the headset is located and every time I moved it will pull the headset out of the jack. The tray table was a little awkward accessing and storing, as well.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Croft

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Our sears were row 7J/K. They faced the rear of the plane and the aisle seat looked toward the food prep area which was brightly lit and noisy. The reclining seats are narrow and there is no storage to hand. Everything had to be stuffed down the side of the seat. The service was fine and the food acceptable however the value is not there



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Shore

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-LHR-SFO The narrowness of the seat is astounding. You cannot be a stomach or back sleeper in these without having your shoulders and elbows bang the hard plastic walls of this casket. I would avoid this seating arrangement like the plague if it weren't for company policy to use the negotiated fare with this airline.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747/777

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Konikowski

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

First off this is only pertaining to lie flat seats. I agree with the others. Garbage product. Even on a 777 United crams 8 seats in a row. 2-4-2. Continental, Air China, etc. only put 6 seats across. 2-2-2. I've flown most of the major Asia airlines, and I was a previous Continental guy. Their lay flats are superior. At 6'6" and 275lbs I can full extend and be relatively comfortable on a Continental 777 so long as I have a bulkhead seat. In United they are all equally bad. United does a good job of making BusinessFirst feel like a Cattle car no different than economy. I sleep terribly on United. Their footwell is about 12" wide and narrows down to a point. You can't even fit your feet in it. To sleep I have to scrunch up and my arms constantly fall asleep. Don't even get me started on the flight attendants. They're obviously selected on seniority which is a terrible idea when these people have been flying for what seems like a century. They're jaded and they're cranky. No matter how polite I am, everything I need is troublesome. I don't care what kind of class warfare you believe in, on the plane, I paid a lot more money than other people and I expect good service.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Niven Patel

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The 2-4-2 configuration in business class isn't as bad as it's made out to be. Yes, the configuration isn't ideal, but if you're on the two sides (not in the middle 4 seats) then it's not much of a problem. I recommend choosing a seat on the two sides if you can (these go first so try and select right when you book your ticket). You do still have to climb over the person next to you if you're at the window, but you have to do this on many other airlines as well (even Emirates!) in business class. If you're in the center 4 seats, you want an aisle seat, as you otherwise are sitting in between two other people and have much less privacy. As for the seats - they are a bit narrow (narrower than United's 2-class 777s with the 2-2-2 configuration), but they're still comfortable enough. And the most important part about the seats is that they're fully 180-degree flat (no angle whatsoever) which allows for more comfortable sleep. I've flown this product several times and have never minded it. Just remember how much better it is than flying in coach (I mean you're seat turns into a bed, even if it's a "narrow" one!) and there's lots of legroom. There's no storage for small items, but there's nooks where you can find a place for them. I always wonder why someone decided such a 2-4-2 configuration was a good idea. British Airways has a 2-4-2 configuration, but the way they have arranged it gives the seats a lot more privacy (and some individual seats with aisle access). Just for some perspective, BA business class seats have the same seat width as the 2-4-2 United seats and you don't hear such complaints about them! Is the product ideal? No. But it still allows for an infinitely more comfortable flight compared to economy or premium economy.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Williams

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew from Sydney to LAX with United. I didn't choose United - it was part of round the world Start Alliance ticket I bought. The reviews were shocking but they have recently re-fitted the cabin for the trans pacific route. My summary is this - if you are considering United over a more established airline such as a Singapore, BA, Emiratesetc, I would advise you not to. But if it is the only bus class seat you can get or is a lot less expensive, than I would advise you to do it. The good stuff - The seat went completely flat and was pretty comfortable. I am 6ft 190 lbs and while the seat was narrower than most flat beds, it was long enough for me to stretch out. The food was very good and the wine was good enough. The seat was more comfortable than some others. The bad stuff : The service is shocking, just horrific. All the attendants were incredibly rude - it was as if they have so much tenure that they are unfirable. They didn't care. I felt embarrassed asking for more wine. The worst service I've ever been associated with - worse than economy. I have no idea how any of them still have jobs. The inflight entertainment was only OK - hard to navigate, bad controls, not a brilliant choice - lots of movies but lots of bad ones. The configuration of the seats isn't great either. I was in a middle aisle seat and it was hard for the guy to my right to get in and out and the rude hostesses had to walk in front of me to serve him.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747

Date

3 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Shore

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Excellent seat sitting up or in the flat position. But if you were in the window seat, or a centre seat, and the person on the aisle was in the lie down position, getting out would be a problem.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

W Farmer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew EWR to LAX in first class, seat 1A. Denied club access even though I had a Priority Pass, which clearly states United is partner. There are 16 flat bed seats on this plane, previously used by Continental for international routes. The seat was fine for the short 5.5 hour flight, but they had no pillows. None. Food fine with a minimal selection. Cocktails/drinks served throughout the flight. One point if flying on this plane. Try to get row 1. This row has a full sized ottoman at each seat which completes the bed or acts as a shelf when in the seated position. The other rows have a tiny wedge area for your feet when in the flat bed position. And I mean tiny. Your feet will be squeezed together. The seat is also quite narrow when fully reclined.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Carrell

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The absolute worst Business Class in the business. If they were selling this as premium economy I could understand, but this configuration is so far from competitive that I will never fly UA in Business again.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Law

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The United BusinessFirst seat is the worst lie-flat seat I've flown in. Other than the fact that it does convert to a completely flat, horizontal bed, there is nothing positive about it. To start off, the seat width is the narrowest I've seen. In a good old B747-400, they fit 8 seats across. As a comparison, for the old United Connoisseur class from 20 years ago, they only fit 7 seats across in the same aircraft. I'm 5'11" and medium build, and there is not enough room for me to lie flat on my back without my shoulders banging on the armrests. My only option is to sleep on my side. I'm flown business classes on Cathay Pacific, Asiana and Singapore Airlines, and their seats are much wider. Besides the seat being narrow, United also tries to cramp as many seats as possible into the cabin. If your seat doesn't have aisle access, you simply cannot access the aisle once the aisle seat is converted to the bed configuration without either making acrobatic jumps across your seat neighbor or waking up your seat neighbor to temporary converting the bed back to a seat. This is simple unacceptable for the business class cabin. Again, this problem does not exist on Cathay Pacific, Asiana, or Singapore Airlines. There is also no storage whatsoever, not even for a water bottle, or glass case. There is only a little latch beneath the TV screen, but it is not a safe place to put your glasses, unless you want it to become a flying missile when the plane encounters turbulence while you're sleeping. The only consolation for flying the aging B747-400 is that you can choose the upper deck cabin which includes nice little storage bins beside the window. Bottom line, if you have a choice, avoid United.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200 (2-class)

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

H Lehnert

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Hong Kong to Newark, 16 hours. United flies two types of 777: two class (formerly Continental) and three class (std United). The difference is profound. The Two Class has 2-2-2 seating with angled little compartments and some nice storage area behind and in front of you. Seats are comfortable and can be adjusted to pretty much whatever you like. 60+ movies with a so-so screen. Food is the same on both versions. Not fine dining but a fair amount of choices and nicely done. On this flight I clocked at least 7 hours of sleep. At this point I spend my upgrades only on this configuration since the standard 2-4-2 much worse.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

19 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Benedetto

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Since when did United go to two classes of service - low class and no class - on long-haul flights between IAH and HNL, and HNL to GUM? No footrests in Business Class? No personal video screens?



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

22 January 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Daniel Akerman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Frankfurt to San Francisco in United Global First. The seat was as you would expect of a first class seat, full recline with massage functions etc. However I was very disappointed in the level of privacy. From a privacy perspective it was more like a business class seat.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

17 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Thornburgh

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

ORD-FRA return. Excellent business seats for someone who is 6'3" because the seats are long enough and you do not have a narrow tube or box where you have to try to fit your size 13 feet.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

James Espy

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

United seats here are the smallest, narrowest seats. I am 6' tall, medium build and it was tight. You are repeatedly rubbing against the person next to you. United utilizes a 2-4-2 configuration, squeezing 8 seats across the isle. There is no room to store anything. The magazine storage is behind your shoulder, making it very hard to access. There is no storage under the seat in front of you, and barely enough room beside your seat for a glass case. The center 2 seats in the middle section make accessibility awful. It is very hard to climb over your neighbor when their chair is extended flat. The food and beverage service was mediocre. Nothing special at all. Service equally 'average'. I will likely not fly this product again. I was not impressed at all.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

L Rogers

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great seat for sleeping with plenty of length. The padding supports sleeping. There are no narrow tubes or tight spaces that crunch your feet and prevent turning. I like talking to the person I am traveling with.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

T McNamara

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My wife and I took this flight from SFO to JFK on November 29, 2013. 1A and 1B are great seats with lots of leg room. These are bulkhead seats and 1B has a cutout giving even more room. There is lots of storage in the bulkhead shelf so you do not have to use overheads on take off and landing. FA's were great and very friendly. Almost too much to choose from in the entertainment system. Will fly this plane again.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Lopez

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew Washington IAD to Kuwait and continuing to Bahrain in their Business Class cabin (flights UA982 and UA981). The 2-4-2 configuration results in very narrow seats. You are rubbing elbows with the passenger next to you. The seat reclines 180 degrees horizontal. That is good, but again you are very cramped. I am 5' 8" medium build, and I was not comfortable. If you are a tall or large person, these Business Class seats are not for you. Also, there's practically no room to place anything - water bottle, book, etc. I placed a small bag with my iphone charger in the small space to the side of the seat, and when I went to sleep, it fell down to the back of the seat or to the floor and lost it. (Luckily, I reported it to the airline as soon as I realized it, and they found it and delivered it to the gate in Kuwait. So, I got it back when I boarded the return flight to USA. So, that is positive). The food was mediocre and the service was also mediocre. One of the flight attendants barked to the passenger next to me "You are going to have to put that in the upper bins!" referring to his briefcase. I've flown to the Middle East before with other airlines, Delta, Saudi Airlines, and their Business Class service is better. Delta's business class configuration 1-2-1 from ATL to Dubai with the seats at an angle and direct access to the aisle is much better and that is what UA had in their First Class cabin. Saudi Arabian Airlines Business Class seats are wider. They don't recline 180 degrees, but the food is very good and the service on board is friendlier. Also, their prices are very attractive often enough (they were sold out this time for the return flight). Also, if you are going to fly in this cabin, it'd advisable to go online and select the seats as early as possible. Half of the business class cabin in ahead of the door, and the other half is behind the door. So, you'd want to be ahead of the door, particularly if you are in an aisle seat, so that during the boarding process, you don't have a river of people going through the aisle towards the economy cabin bumping their backpacks and carry-on items against you. Also, there are some seats facing the lavatories and/or the galley that you'll want to avoid. In spite of all of that, since those flights are so long, I was able to sleep enough and arrive reasonably rested. That's the advantage of those non-stop flights to the Middle East, compared with going through Europe.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Yager

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Dulles-Kuwait roundtrip in United Global First. Excellent experience. I'm just over 6 ft tall, the seat in full flat was very comfortable, especially with added bottom pad that flight attendants will prepare on request. The food was very good. Service was friendly and professional and could not be faulted. Audio/video selections varied and large screens. The amenity kit is superb. My complaint is that the single lavatory for the eight first class passengers is often blocked off when the flight crew, consisting of a pilot and three first officers on these long flights, are up and about.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Bonimelli

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

They should call this business cattle class. How they squeeze 8 seats per row is amazing. No room, privacy, half no aisle access, backward facing, uncomfortable beds, poor covers. They should have looked at their partners like air New Zealand yo learn about business class. A total waste but I understand they have tried to squeeze in as many seats as business class to pack in revenue but it is one reason they are always on verge of bankruptcy. Very sad as I am a 1 k member but when I have the funds to pay for business class, will use other airlines.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-300

Date

26 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Tobias

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The seats are too short as beds. I am only 6 feet tall and the seat was too short for me to stretch out fully. The space for one's feet when using the seat as a bed is inadequate if you keep your shoes on (necessary to avoid the 'slime' on the floor of the restrooms in the planes). Storage space is inadequate. There is no separator between the two center seats so privacy is nonexistent.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

26 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Sabaduquia

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Premium Service Business Class, SFO-JFK. The seat pitch was excellent, and the seat itself was very plush and comfortable in sitting position. Seat was not 180 lie-flat but was flat enough to get a good nap for an hour or two. The seat was leather and was comfortable, although it kept moving and wouldn't stay still every time I moved an inch. Seat functions were antique but worked well enough. Powerport and ample storage were provided, although most people used the powerport to plug in their individual media players I opted not to use it and used the plug for my iPhone charger instead. I sat on the first row (6D).



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

20 April 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Miriam Omphroy

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I never write these kind of reviews but I think It's worth to take time and write about it. What a shock it was my recent trip from Washington to Brussels in the new Global First Class, plane is as old and dirty as it could be, seats are almost not functional, food (better bring your lunch box) horrible does not describe it. Service was nowhere to be found. Flight attendants are too busy chit-chatting and are bothered if you ask them for something. Very disappointing, and the amenity kit very mediocre, pajamas nowhere to be found. If you are thinking of flying United please look for other options if you don't want to be disappointed and cheated.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

20 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Jacobs

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew from Houston to Lima Peru. The worst business class seat experience I have ever had. Pitch of the seat was awful. The most uncomfortable seat with overhead bin that would not accept a standard-size rolling bag. The video system was a time warp from 15 years ago. The ear phones were very sad. If United wants to charge business class prices, they better get their act together. I would avoid flying a 757 internationally on United Airlines unless you could be assured it had been refitted with lie-flat seats.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

20 April 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Dean

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The first class seat on the United 777 is as good as anything offered by other airlines. I regret that I was let down by the check-in and TSA side though (at ORD) since that focusses solely on United's Global Service clients, not the once in a while first class traveller.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

26 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

T Findley

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I like United Business class seat for everything except sleeping. When in a flat position, the seat is not long enough plus the area for feet is quite cramped. Not comfortable at all and I am only 6 ft tall. On the positive side, the seat is comfortable for sitting and entertainment system is very good. My wife, who is shorter than I am, likes the seats and has no problem sleeping.




 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.