HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | United Airlines

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for United Airlines First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

UNITED AIRLINES First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

W Farmer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew EWR to LAX in first class, seat 1A. Denied club access even though I had a Priority Pass, which clearly states United is partner. There are 16 flat bed seats on this plane, previously used by Continental for international routes. The seat was fine for the short 5.5 hour flight, but they had no pillows. None. Food fine with a minimal selection. Cocktails/drinks served throughout the flight. One point if flying on this plane. Try to get row 1. This row has a full sized ottoman at each seat which completes the bed or acts as a shelf when in the seated position. The other rows have a tiny wedge area for your feet when in the flat bed position. And I mean tiny. Your feet will be squeezed together. The seat is also quite narrow when fully reclined.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Carrell

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The absolute worst Business Class in the business. If they were selling this as premium economy I could understand, but this configuration is so far from competitive that I will never fly UA in Business again.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Law

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The United BusinessFirst seat is the worst lie-flat seat I've flown in. Other than the fact that it does convert to a completely flat, horizontal bed, there is nothing positive about it. To start off, the seat width is the narrowest I've seen. In a good old B747-400, they fit 8 seats across. As a comparison, for the old United Connoisseur class from 20 years ago, they only fit 7 seats across in the same aircraft. I'm 5'11" and medium build, and there is not enough room for me to lie flat on my back without my shoulders banging on the armrests. My only option is to sleep on my side. I'm flown business classes on Cathay Pacific, Asiana and Singapore Airlines, and their seats are much wider. Besides the seat being narrow, United also tries to cramp as many seats as possible into the cabin. If your seat doesn't have aisle access, you simply cannot access the aisle once the aisle seat is converted to the bed configuration without either making acrobatic jumps across your seat neighbor or waking up your seat neighbor to temporary converting the bed back to a seat. This is simple unacceptable for the business class cabin. Again, this problem does not exist on Cathay Pacific, Asiana, or Singapore Airlines. There is also no storage whatsoever, not even for a water bottle, or glass case. There is only a little latch beneath the TV screen, but it is not a safe place to put your glasses, unless you want it to become a flying missile when the plane encounters turbulence while you're sleeping. The only consolation for flying the aging B747-400 is that you can choose the upper deck cabin which includes nice little storage bins beside the window. Bottom line, if you have a choice, avoid United.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200 (2-class)

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

H Lehnert

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Hong Kong to Newark, 16 hours. United flies two types of 777: two class (formerly Continental) and three class (std United). The difference is profound. The Two Class has 2-2-2 seating with angled little compartments and some nice storage area behind and in front of you. Seats are comfortable and can be adjusted to pretty much whatever you like. 60+ movies with a so-so screen. Food is the same on both versions. Not fine dining but a fair amount of choices and nicely done. On this flight I clocked at least 7 hours of sleep. At this point I spend my upgrades only on this configuration since the standard 2-4-2 much worse.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

19 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Benedetto

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Since when did United go to two classes of service - low class and no class - on long-haul flights between IAH and HNL, and HNL to GUM? No footrests in Business Class? No personal video screens?



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

22 January 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Daniel Akerman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Frankfurt to San Francisco in United Global First. The seat was as you would expect of a first class seat, full recline with massage functions etc. However I was very disappointed in the level of privacy. From a privacy perspective it was more like a business class seat.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

17 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Thornburgh

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

ORD-FRA return. Excellent business seats for someone who is 6'3" because the seats are long enough and you do not have a narrow tube or box where you have to try to fit your size 13 feet.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

James Espy

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

United seats here are the smallest, narrowest seats. I am 6' tall, medium build and it was tight. You are repeatedly rubbing against the person next to you. United utilizes a 2-4-2 configuration, squeezing 8 seats across the isle. There is no room to store anything. The magazine storage is behind your shoulder, making it very hard to access. There is no storage under the seat in front of you, and barely enough room beside your seat for a glass case. The center 2 seats in the middle section make accessibility awful. It is very hard to climb over your neighbor when their chair is extended flat. The food and beverage service was mediocre. Nothing special at all. Service equally 'average'. I will likely not fly this product again. I was not impressed at all.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

L Rogers

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great seat for sleeping with plenty of length. The padding supports sleeping. There are no narrow tubes or tight spaces that crunch your feet and prevent turning. I like talking to the person I am traveling with.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

T McNamara

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My wife and I took this flight from SFO to JFK on November 29, 2013. 1A and 1B are great seats with lots of leg room. These are bulkhead seats and 1B has a cutout giving even more room. There is lots of storage in the bulkhead shelf so you do not have to use overheads on take off and landing. FA's were great and very friendly. Almost too much to choose from in the entertainment system. Will fly this plane again.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Lopez

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew Washington IAD to Kuwait and continuing to Bahrain in their Business Class cabin (flights UA982 and UA981). The 2-4-2 configuration results in very narrow seats. You are rubbing elbows with the passenger next to you. The seat reclines 180 degrees horizontal. That is good, but again you are very cramped. I am 5' 8" medium build, and I was not comfortable. If you are a tall or large person, these Business Class seats are not for you. Also, there's practically no room to place anything - water bottle, book, etc. I placed a small bag with my iphone charger in the small space to the side of the seat, and when I went to sleep, it fell down to the back of the seat or to the floor and lost it. (Luckily, I reported it to the airline as soon as I realized it, and they found it and delivered it to the gate in Kuwait. So, I got it back when I boarded the return flight to USA. So, that is positive). The food was mediocre and the service was also mediocre. One of the flight attendants barked to the passenger next to me "You are going to have to put that in the upper bins!" referring to his briefcase. I've flown to the Middle East before with other airlines, Delta, Saudi Airlines, and their Business Class service is better. Delta's business class configuration 1-2-1 from ATL to Dubai with the seats at an angle and direct access to the aisle is much better and that is what UA had in their First Class cabin. Saudi Arabian Airlines Business Class seats are wider. They don't recline 180 degrees, but the food is very good and the service on board is friendlier. Also, their prices are very attractive often enough (they were sold out this time for the return flight). Also, if you are going to fly in this cabin, it'd advisable to go online and select the seats as early as possible. Half of the business class cabin in ahead of the door, and the other half is behind the door. So, you'd want to be ahead of the door, particularly if you are in an aisle seat, so that during the boarding process, you don't have a river of people going through the aisle towards the economy cabin bumping their backpacks and carry-on items against you. Also, there are some seats facing the lavatories and/or the galley that you'll want to avoid. In spite of all of that, since those flights are so long, I was able to sleep enough and arrive reasonably rested. That's the advantage of those non-stop flights to the Middle East, compared with going through Europe.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Yager

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Dulles-Kuwait roundtrip in United Global First. Excellent experience. I'm just over 6 ft tall, the seat in full flat was very comfortable, especially with added bottom pad that flight attendants will prepare on request. The food was very good. Service was friendly and professional and could not be faulted. Audio/video selections varied and large screens. The amenity kit is superb. My complaint is that the single lavatory for the eight first class passengers is often blocked off when the flight crew, consisting of a pilot and three first officers on these long flights, are up and about.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Bonimelli

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

They should call this business cattle class. How they squeeze 8 seats per row is amazing. No room, privacy, half no aisle access, backward facing, uncomfortable beds, poor covers. They should have looked at their partners like air New Zealand yo learn about business class. A total waste but I understand they have tried to squeeze in as many seats as business class to pack in revenue but it is one reason they are always on verge of bankruptcy. Very sad as I am a 1 k member but when I have the funds to pay for business class, will use other airlines.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-300

Date

26 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Tobias

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The seats are too short as beds. I am only 6 feet tall and the seat was too short for me to stretch out fully. The space for one's feet when using the seat as a bed is inadequate if you keep your shoes on (necessary to avoid the 'slime' on the floor of the restrooms in the planes). Storage space is inadequate. There is no separator between the two center seats so privacy is nonexistent.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

26 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Sabaduquia

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Premium Service Business Class, SFO-JFK. The seat pitch was excellent, and the seat itself was very plush and comfortable in sitting position. Seat was not 180 lie-flat but was flat enough to get a good nap for an hour or two. The seat was leather and was comfortable, although it kept moving and wouldn't stay still every time I moved an inch. Seat functions were antique but worked well enough. Powerport and ample storage were provided, although most people used the powerport to plug in their individual media players I opted not to use it and used the plug for my iPhone charger instead. I sat on the first row (6D).



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

20 April 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Miriam Omphroy

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I never write these kind of reviews but I think It's worth to take time and write about it. What a shock it was my recent trip from Washington to Brussels in the new Global First Class, plane is as old and dirty as it could be, seats are almost not functional, food (better bring your lunch box) horrible does not describe it. Service was nowhere to be found. Flight attendants are too busy chit-chatting and are bothered if you ask them for something. Very disappointing, and the amenity kit very mediocre, pajamas nowhere to be found. If you are thinking of flying United please look for other options if you don't want to be disappointed and cheated.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

20 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Jacobs

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew from Houston to Lima Peru. The worst business class seat experience I have ever had. Pitch of the seat was awful. The most uncomfortable seat with overhead bin that would not accept a standard-size rolling bag. The video system was a time warp from 15 years ago. The ear phones were very sad. If United wants to charge business class prices, they better get their act together. I would avoid flying a 757 internationally on United Airlines unless you could be assured it had been refitted with lie-flat seats.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

20 April 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Dean

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The first class seat on the United 777 is as good as anything offered by other airlines. I regret that I was let down by the check-in and TSA side though (at ORD) since that focusses solely on United's Global Service clients, not the once in a while first class traveller.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

26 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

T Findley

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I like United Business class seat for everything except sleeping. When in a flat position, the seat is not long enough plus the area for feet is quite cramped. Not comfortable at all and I am only 6 ft tall. On the positive side, the seat is comfortable for sitting and entertainment system is very good. My wife, who is shorter than I am, likes the seats and has no problem sleeping.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Bright

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

IAD-LHR in their new lie flat beds. The seats are definitely narrow and feel cramped due to the 8 across seating. You feel like you are all on top of each other and, in fact, I kept on getting elbowed by the person next to me. As others have mentioned, it was a bit better when fully reclined and you were not as aware of being packed in like expensive sardines. The foot pod that allows you to go fully flat is off-center, forcing you to sleep in a specific way. I believe that the seat pitch is also shorter than other UA configurations that use legacy CO lie-flat seats. TV screens are larger and provide a nice entertainment experience.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Goldman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

ORD-HKG. This seat is not all that bad. While the food is not 5 star and the seat is not a pillow top mattress, it lies flat, the food is edible, service attentive. They are not Singapore, or Qatar Airways, but those two airlines don't serve my routes.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

24 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Bright

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Bizarre and uncomfortable business class cabin layout that includes both forward and backward facing seats. If you are traveling with someone you know very well it might be fine, but otherwise not. You have to share an armrest, which is not acceptable in today's business class. Also there is absolutely nowhere to store anything. And seat is uncomfortable in upright position as well as very narrow. Service is somewhat abrupt but pleasant enough. I would not fly this airline with this seat configuration again. Certainly not worth a $6k ticket for "business class" when compared to other airlines. Walked through 1st class while boarding and no way would want that for $10k. Short little "pods" with no privacy at all.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

L Lee

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My husband and I were flying from Sydney to San Francisco. We chose this flight because it is the only direct flight between SYD and SFO. Though we heard of the mostly negative reviews of UA business, they did not prepare me for the awful state of this aircraft 747-400. The seats were so tight, and you had to face the other passengers the whole flight because of the forward and backward seating arrangement of this flight (I guess to save space and make more money). There are eight seats per row, two seats on each end and four seats in the middle. Also, there was no seat pocket for you to store a magazine - I had to stuff my magazine on the side of my seat. The food was not edible and my husband had to wait 30 mins for his meal to arrive. Sleeping was uncomfortable since the seat was so narrow though the seat did extend flat. This was the worst business class we have ever been to.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

12 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Bearman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-ORD - Very disappointed with how cramped the business class seats are configured on this plane. Especially felt bad for the victim in 8H that had the lav light shining in his face the entire flight in a $6000 seat. The 2-4-2 configuration was tight. There is no way for the middle seats in the 4 section to get out when the aisle occupants reclined their seats. The service was fine, and it was better than flying in coach, but I was disappointed with the price/value ratio. I am not a fan of sitting backwards, so watch out for the rear facing seats in business class. Next time I'll look for an alternative if possible.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

John Bowers

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I was shocked by the packed business class section with 2-4-2 seat infighting with me assigned in the center. Extremely close, non private, stepping over. I broke into a sweat imagining this Hong Kong-SFO and thank god did a 20,000 mile on the spot upgrade to 2A in Global First, which was heaven. Beware United business first on 747. Might as well do economy plus vs business first. But global first 2A was awesome, private, up in nose of 747. Ratings below are for my initially assigned biz class seat not global first.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

C Anderson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

United is downgrading its p.s. service from LAX and SFO to JFK. It was 3 cabin service. They are going to 2 cabin with the new United (really Continental) Business/First seats, which are awful. As other reviewers have commented, the seats are so narrow, you feel squeezed and your body is always touching a hard surface side of the seat. Sleep is next to impossible. The linens and blankets are like coarse bargain store clear-outs at $1.00 each. United used to have great white linens and blankets. They now now use the Continental "yuk" blue. The high end finance and entertainment people used to pay for $3,000 or so for Business or First p.s. service on United coast to coast. They will no more with these horrible seats. I'd really rather be in coach than in these new seats. The old United p.s. Business seats were far more comfortable than these. Oh, and no Champagne on the flight, though the menu offered mimosas. Terrible headsets in First, the kind they hand out in coach with buds that hurt your ears and have lousy sound. And rather lousy flight attendant service. Not to mention their many computer crashes which have left passengers stranded for hours. Isn't United now ranked the worst airline in the U.S?



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J Korlo

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The crew were friendly, food acceptable but the best part was the seat. For a start, there were four different places to store books and personal items. Turndown service where they place a padded blanket on top of the seat to make it more comfortable. When laid flat the seat was the best I“ve experienced. With earplugs in all would have been perfect had it not been for a chatty crew in the galley. Avoid seats 1A and 1K if you want some rest because they“re too close to sources of light and noise.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Ljunggren

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

First class seat is excellent, there are four storage lockers of various sizes, and when the seat is extended fully you can easily sleep - extended, the seat is long and reasonably wide. The amenity pack is useful and the showers in the arrival lounge in Chicago were most welcome. The service was cool to the point of being chilly and the food was awful, just awful. Cold glutinous snacks were followed by inedible corn soup and then a tasteless beef steak with dessicated vegetables. The meal was shockingly bad. The chicken snack served an hour before arrival was of much higher quality. A mixed experience, but the quality of the seats alone mean I'd seriously look at flying United again.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Thornburgh

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great flat bed seats that are long enough for someone who is 6'3". Slept 8 hours. Can sleep on back, stomach or side. No tight spaces for feet or legs.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 787

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Gilbert Schwartz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My flight (EWR-IAH) was one of the first shortly after it was put into service. The arrival of the plane created quite a buzz at the gate and by the ground crew. The cabin interior is inviting and spacious with high ceiling, oversize storage bins, large windows and pleasing soft LED lighting. I was assigned seat 4E in business class - there are three classes: Business-First, Economy Plus and Economy. Business class is in a 2-2-2 configuration. IFE consisted of the standard choices on a 17" screen controlled by hand-held device or touch screen. Unfortunately, my system malfunctioned and the FA had to reboot the system several times throughout the flight. Seats (22" w. with 60" pitch) were comfortable when upright and very comfortable when in full flat bed recline. The controls were clearly marked and accessible. The lavatory is equipped with touch free fixtures. The air system is considered state-of-the-art and the cabin is pressurized to 6,000 ft. instead of the normal 8,000 ft. and this adds to the comfort. Overall the flight was quiet, smooth and comfortable which led to a very positive experience.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Paul Booth

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-SFO. As soon as I saw the seating arrangement I thought this is the worst business class I have ever experienced. A thought that became an even worse reality when I took my seat. I couldn't believe the middle 4 seats all faced forward meaning 'step overs' on a regular basis. The narrowness of the seats meant sleeping was really difficult, and sharing an arm rest was pathetic for a ticket that cost over £4000. Never again will I fly United.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Rick Salzer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

PEK-IAD last week in FC seats 1J/2J. My wife and I were booked on the new configuration 777 which we had on the IAD - PEK flight three weeks earlier. The newer seats were good, clean and comfortable. An aircraft change the day before our flight from Beijing delivered the old style FC. What a sad, old, worn, stained and flattened out high miles seat. The AV was a very old 8 or 9in screen that still used tapes you can borrow from a box in the front of the cabin. I haven't seen this type of AV since the 90's. I really can't say anything good about it. We had the newer aircraft booked for 6 months and I checked it several times a week but they changed it the day before the flight, also changed our seats. I was able go get back to seats 1 and 2 window on the UA website, but couldn't do anything about the aircraft. United's competition in the Asia market are light years ahead in seats, service, meals, drinks, cleanliness, AVOD. On this vacation trip we were using miles so it was less painful than if we had paid for the flights. Usually we pay and fly on Asian airlines. United's seats on the flight home are the reason we wouldn't pay to fly United even if the fare was half the going rate. Shame on United for presenting this 777 as a First Class product. Even if you book the new seats, unfortunatly there is nothing you can do to prevent UAL from switching aircraft at the last minute. I hope you never have to fly this aircraft or sit in these seats.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Smith

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seat 6D no privacy! Backward facing seat, no storage for carry on and no elbow room. The service from the flight attendant was well below par, not rude but just very bad. Forget about a second drink, and the service rushed so they could disappear. Omelette served cold, same as the coffee, the other breakfast choice was a little box of frosties. I will book a foreign carrier next time.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Diaz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Newark-Stockholm. No champagne on board (?). Little seat privacy. VERY uncomfortable lie flat seats. I had lower back pain during and after the flight. The seats are very narrow, I felt "boxed" and I'm 6'. Cheap plastic headphones which made very difficult to listen video. I fly Delta regularly and their new business class is a world apart from United. I won't fly United again.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Harper

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-FRA. Poor recliner seat that needed to be manually (not motorized) adjusted. I needed my entire body weight and my hands to generate enough leverage to operate the seat. No VOD entertainment. The video monitor was only slightly larger than my smartphone screen, and was broken and unable to be locked into place.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Agarwal

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-NRT on 747 Upper Deck and 777-200 from NRT-BKK, both with flat-bed seats. I have to say while many of the complaints about the United seats and FA's may be justified, I found the flights very comfortable. I am 6"2 and was able to sleep in the lie flat position without much issues. AVOD selection great for the 9+ hour flight. The flight attendants were, surprisingly, pleasant on both legs. Food was medicore but they kept coming around to refill drinks etc. A definite perk of sitting in the more private upper deck. United will never compare with the Asian airlines, its not a bad business- class product - better than all of the other North American airline options.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

9 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Loth

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Horrible seats. I'm a 1K traveler and United has been promising for 5 years that they would replace the old, Seats go full flat. However, the seats are so narrow that even a normal male with average build cannot lie down comfortably. My shoulders continuously touched the Armrest on one side and the frame on the other side and I consider myself rather slim. As a previous reviewed stated "laid out like sardines" pretty much describes it all. Sleeping was not possible. Service from FAs was sub-par for international Business Class. Entertainment was good. Given that you have passengers next to you on international 777, privacy is simply non-existant and you have to share an armrest.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

3 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Nicolaisen

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Horrible seats. I'm a 1K traveler and United has been promising for 5 years that they would replace the old, Barcalounger seats on their planes. Yet I still get stuck in the old seats. My last flight to Brussels from Newark, the seat's power did not work. The flight attendants had to physically force the seat into different positions.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

3 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Meyer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flew roundtrip IAD-LHR on 777-200s, equipped with United's new business class seats in both directions. The new IFE was excellent, and seats were fairly comfortable when sitting upright or partially reclined. The seats were not especially comfortable when adjusted to flat bed positions. They were simply too narrow (what do you expect when you do 8-across in a 777 - that's just one less seat across than in coach), and caused my lower back to ache. I think everyone else had the same issue, judging by the fact that two thirds of the way into our overnight flight to London, I didn't spot any seats still in the flat position. Also, the backwards facing seats are slightly awkward, since aircraft generally fly at a slightly upward tilted angle. If you didn't recline your seat, you'd feel like you were going to slide off it. Finally, storage space was virtually non-existent. All bags of any size had to be stored in the overheads for take-off and landing, and their wasn't so much as a seat-back pocket to store a laptop or reading material in.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

3 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C Chan

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The upper deck was comfortable, quiet and private. I sat in a rear facing seat in the aisle. The arm rest lowers for more space. Seat is padded and controls worked well. PTV was very large and a huge selection.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Ian Graham

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Downgraded from paid First Class to Business, not a great start to the evening. Equipment change they said. After a 45 minute wait at the gate I was assigned a seat, 6H, in Business Class that already had a passenger in it. I have no idea where he ended up. Seats are so narrow that I could not lie on my back when fully reclined. No floor storage, facing backwards, inedible food. Never again. If UA wants to compete on international business class they will have to do something about their seats.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Goncharoff

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Booked and paid for a flat bed seat. For the second time in a year got a worn out chair instead. Reminded me of first class seats in the 80s - cracked leather and 55" pitch - not helpful for an overnight flight.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-400

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Carson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Newark-Rome return. AVOD worked flawlessly with great movie selection. The problem was the seat which was extremely uncomfortable for sleep. To attempt to lie-flat, the design forces the feet into a cubbyhole within the seat in front. I am 6'2" and the 55" pitch between seats is just not adequate. There was no way to adjust the seat to be comfortable.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J West

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

IAD-EZE-IAD, a comfortable flight, and a reasonable nights sleep. So the seat does its job. Real criticism is the lack of useful storage space. There is a lot of space but it isn't particularly useful. And the various controls are confusing - had a hard time find my overhead light switch. No convenient place to put a computer for example. And there is not a lot of privacy. My only real question would be whether it is worth the extra cost relative the business class seats right behind me. As long as my seat goes 180 degrees flat, I'm not sure much else matters.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Henry Lodge

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My first experience with United after being a Continental customer for years. The United lie-flat seats are well below the quality of the Continental lie-flat seats. They are adequate, but are narrower with almost no storage space at the seat. United crams 8 seats in the same space Continental put 6 seats. With alternate rows facing opposite directions, it was a bit disconcerting to be looking directly at the passenger in the next row across the aisle.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Jim Sylph

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

EWR-BRU, B777 had been fully reconditioned. Seats comfortable and flat. Blanket was a thin duvet which was quite warm enough. Crew were friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the 2-4-2 cabin layout with all four center seats facing backwards.




 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.