Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | United Airlines

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for United Airlines First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

UNITED AIRLINES First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 July 2011  by P Kenneth

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Shockingly bad seats. Too narrow. Is now 2-4-2 vs 2-3-2. I was bumping arms with the person next to me in a high priced business cabin! The overall feel of the business cabin is cramped and noisy. Also, avoid seat 8H. You are basically sitting in the lavatory. I couldn't even eat my meal or sleep due to constant noise/lack of privacy. Absolutely horrible experience. I'm a 1K member considering permanently changing airlines.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 767 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011  by S Denis

Aircraft

Boeing 767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Hard product is good with the new configuration. It does lack privacy compared to similar fully flat products. Still a huge improvement from what it was like 2-3 yrs ago. There's still a lot of room for improvement in soft product. FAs never smile, food is mediocre, drink selection is very limited. Ground service is where you understand it is still the same old United: employees are indifferent and ineffective to the point of being rude; business lounges are a far cry from what competition offers.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011  by M Gayer

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Biggest issue: privacy! Spending 20+ hours in a seat sharing the space with a stranger? No thanks. Entertainment needs to be more international - not just traditional America focused. More TV shows - heck even top 10 US dramas are fine.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011  by J Johnson

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ORD-HKG. What a disappointment. First class seats were narrow - and the four middle seats are inferior to the window seats. Very tight space, for example one cannot wheel a small roll-away through the aisles from seat 1K. Probably the biggest surprise was the really ordinary food -- business class meal served on a plate. Food was cold. Looking at the business cabin on the main deck: 2-4-2 configuration; I would hate to be in those middle seats. Continental's BusinessFirst service/food is better than United's International First Class service.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011  by S Hawes

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Busines Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

First time on United and was shocked to discover I was in a time warp back to the 80's, when booking on the United website and reviewing their new and much lauded Business seat I find myself seated on an aircraft that both appeared to be very old and worn out and not the one on website.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011  by J Barkman

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Busines Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

United's new business class config is terrible. The seats are very narrow, and you play armzee with the passenger next to you when sitting upright. It's a real shame that they spent all the money on such an inferior product.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777-200ER BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   20 May 2011  by L MacMaster

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200ER

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

UA business class seats were an absolute torture device. Old, worn, didn't work. Do they pre-screen and train the flight attendants to be a rude as possible?



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777-200ER BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   20 May 2011  by J Smith

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200ER

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Old Business Class SIN-NRT on B777. Old fashioned recliners but lots of legroom. The seats give a nice nap but not a nights sleep. Entertainment is terrible.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 May 2011  by J Teoh

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat 2A. SYD-SFO. The new United First Suite is comfortable with plenty of padding, a nice soft bed in the horizontal position. It does feel a little narrow but there are adjustable arm rests that allow the width to be increased. There is also a good amount of storage space. The duvet is nice but the pillows are a bit thin, a reasonable amount of privacy in 2A but you are in direct line of view from 1K.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by R Reese

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seating is not conducive to sleeping and if by chance you doze off, conversations in the galley are sure to awaken you. The move to the lie flat seating on US to Asia flights has not progressed in the last 6 months.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by T Carlton

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new First Suites are really good - it's about time.. The previous 777 and 747 First Class seats were showing their age: functions not working, bad video etc. The new seats are comfortable and multi- functional with excellent video features.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by Pat Brown

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Finally got to try the new business - please, bring back the old recliners. I am 5'3 and sat in a center seat facing backwards. No storage by the seat in overhead bins that I could not reach over the person seated in the aisle seat. My feet could not touch the floor and I could not get the seat adjusted to reach the tray to eat without worrying about wearing my food. I thought the whole experience miserable.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 757 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by S Johnson

Aircraft

Boeing 757

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

JFK-LAX. I could not believe United was selling this flying homeless shelter as first class. The plane was ancient and the seats were obviously original. My arm rest (the ones with the seat controls) was falling apart. Then I noticed I was hitting elbows with the guy in 1A - hitting elbows in first class! The seat was almost impossible to control and get comfortable in. It's obvious United has just given up and is choosing not to compete in the premium service sector. Just depressing and I'm sure I'll never be flying United again.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 767-300 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by P Kulesza

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats fully flat with a little pad on the seat in front to place feet - narrow but comfy. Better than Lufthansa BY FAR.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 757 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011  by Eric Reidt

Aircraft

Boeing 757

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Usually a nice recline is beneficial but this recline is so steep that I couldn't even put my legs in front of me! Other planes are better but their new seats on the 757 are horrendous! I suggest buying economy plus - there's more room!



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011  by Steve Dixon

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Who is United Airlines kidding with this new Business Class product? British Airways 2/4/2 configuration works because they stagger the seating back and forth so that you pick up shoulder room. On United, the service is poor, no air flow, bad food and a joke of a business class seat. I wonder if Continental will switch over from their great Business First product to this horrid example of corporate mistakes.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011  by D Hill

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The food was not remarkable but good and I doubt we will ever get the quality food we had in the 70's and 80's. My wife and I had seats together and I was on the aisle and did not like the idea of facing the person across the aisle, but I blocked it out after a time.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010  by A Banerjee

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I paid for economy, and I got upgraded to business. The seat is spacious and comfortable, with plenty of legroom. However, the seat does not recline all the way, which is behind British and Virgin, which both offer flat seats. The video is not on-demand, so if you start watching halfway through, you have to wait until it starts over.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 757 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by S Johnson

Aircraft

Boeing 757

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

JFK-LAX. I could not believe United was selling this flying homeless shelter as first class. The plane was ancient and the seats were obviously original. My arm rest (the ones with the seat controls) was falling apart. Then I noticed I was hitting elbows with the guy in 1A - hitting elbows in first class! The seat was almost impossible to control and get comfortable in. It's obvious United has just given up and is choosing not to compete in the premium service sector. Just depressing and I'm sure I'll never be flying United again.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 767-300 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by P Kulesza

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats fully flat with a little pad on the seat in front to place feet - narrow but comfy. Better than Lufthansa BY FAR.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 757 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011  by Eric Reidt

Aircraft

Boeing 757

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Usually a nice recline is beneficial but this recline is so steep that I couldn't even put my legs in front of me! Other planes are better but their new seats on the 757 are horrendous! I suggest buying economy plus - there's more room!



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011  by Steve Dixon

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Who is United Airlines kidding with this new Business Class product? British Airways 2/4/2 configuration works because they stagger the seating back and forth so that you pick up shoulder room. On United, the service is poor, no air flow, bad food and a joke of a business class seat. I wonder if Continental will switch over from their great Business First product to this horrid example of corporate mistakes.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011  by D Hill

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The food was not remarkable but good and I doubt we will ever get the quality food we had in the 70's and 80's. My wife and I had seats together and I was on the aisle and did not like the idea of facing the person across the aisle, but I blocked it out after a time.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010  by A Banerjee

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I paid for economy, and I got upgraded to business. The seat is spacious and comfortable, with plenty of legroom. However, the seat does not recline all the way, which is behind British and Virgin, which both offer flat seats. The video is not on-demand, so if you start watching halfway through, you have to wait until it starts over.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 767-300 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010  by D Riskam

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new United First Suite is a big step-up from the previous model. It's relatively private, and very comfortable to sit in. The seat is a little hard and narrow for sleeping. Food was fairly poor, as always. Flight attendants were surly and unhelpful, as always. IFE was quite good. Large 15.4 inch screen and noise-cancelling headsets made watching movies enjoyable.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   25 October 2010  by Peter Ellis

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New business class seat configuration in United is 2x4x2 - yes four narrow seats in the centres. Half the seats lie back the front, so I spent 14 hrs to LA from Sydney looking at the face of another passenger. Service was a shocker, when I asked for a drink I was told by this massively overweight stewardess that she was only babysitting on the upper deck. I served myself from the galley bar. The Americans accept it because they don't know any better. Without doubt the worst airline I have ever flown on.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   25 October 2010  by C Hsu

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

As many have said, there is nostorage space except the overhead bins, but there are a couple of crannies that can be used. The space between the seat cushion and the arm has enough room for a small water bottle and a magazine. It's actually where they leave the amenities kit, which I would never have found if another passenger hadn't pointed it out. Still couldn't find the headphones. Also used the coat hook (between the two video screens) to hang a small bag with some personal items. Sleeping position is not as great as you would think. The footrest means your feet are pushed to one side, and this hurt my knee/ankle after a while. Also, fully reclined you don't have enough room to relax your arms to the side, even with the arm rest out of the way. I found the most comfortable position was reclined about halfway, so that I could put my arms out a bit onto the armrests.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 October 2010  by D Pyle

Aircraft

B777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Newly configured lie flat business class cabin. What used to be a 2x3x2 configuration is now 2x4x2. The positives were the lie flat option, AC outlet vs. needing an adapter to run your US electronics, On Demand movies video games and audio books. Video screen is much larger than on previous seats. The electronic panel to adjust the seat is more user friendly than previous seats, also felt the seat was more comfortable for flights in the 10+ hour range. The negatives for me are the added seat in each row which makes for a tight fit especially if you are in the two seats within the group of 4 seats in the middle; when either aisle seat is in lay flat mode you cannot get out unless you step over your seat mate. There is no under seat storage space which means all carryon must be stored in the overhead bin.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2010  by S Williams

Aircraft

B777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

United has finally reconfigured their 777 Business Class with lie-flat seats. You might be surprised, given my recent experience. The new configuration is 2-4-2 with front and rear facing seats. The lie- flat seats are narrow, and the cabin is now very cramped. Due to FAA regulations, no floor stowage whatsoever is permitted in the Business Class cabin. In other words, Economy cabin passengers get to stow their smaller item under the seat in front of them, where they can access those items after takeoff. But Business Class passengers are required to use the overhead bins, meaning they can't get to any of their carry-on items until the captain turns off the seat-belt sign. United's reconfiguration of its 46 Boeing 777 aircraft has just begun. Be careful booking or you could end up having a miserable flight for a Business Class price.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 767 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2010  by U Ekernas

Aircraft

B767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new seats are very comfortable to sit in, and massage function excellent. I found seat width more than adequate, sleep position is quite comfortable, but the shape of the foot "receptacle" (positioned in the divider beneath the LCD screen) is asymmetrical, and forces one foot to be bent inwards. As many other posters have noted, there is a severe lack of storage spaces (even for items as small as glasses cases or paperbacks).



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010  by Michael Yip

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

First experience with the flat-bed seats. 16C first row, upper-deck. Not impressed. Seat width was narrow, very tight, it appeared that the seat was narrower than the old C-cabin seat. In the flat-bed position, I could not roll the body easily as there was no room and hence made sleeping difficult. Storage space was down to the minimum. The size of the video screen was nice but there was no partition separating the screen next to mine, kind of disturbing. No privacy - no pod or anything, and with the next row which is rear-facing, the passenger across the aisle and I could have stared at each other for the entire flight.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010  by M Lasser

Aircraft

B747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New business class seat is very good. I liked it better for sitting than the old seat and it's good for sleeping. Storage is a problem because there isn't any. Not even a place for water or a book! Flew in them facing both backwards and forwards and like sleeping in the backwards seats better. Upper deck is noticeably shorter seat but quieter and darker on early morning and overnight flights.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010  by R Jackson

Aircraft

B777

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats are very old and tired. Whilst they go flat and are long enough to sleep, they lack privacy and any modern functions or accessories. You are given one pillow and a strange blanket thing. More like other airlines business class but at First prices. AVOD is ancient with tapes chosen to put in a player on a 5 inch screen.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010  by David Thornburgh

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Excellent seats that lie flat. Passengers over 6' should take a seat on the main deck because the seat is longer than the upper deck. Those who sleep on their sides may want to consider taking a window seat on the main deck where there is some additional space by the window when the armrest is down. Those who want more storage space may want a window seat on the upper deck. I used frequent flyer miles and the seats were also a bargain.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.