Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | United Airlines

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for United Airlines First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

UNITED AIRLINES First Class and Business Class Seat reviews





UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Bright

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

IAD-LHR in their new lie flat beds. The seats are definitely narrow and feel cramped due to the 8 across seating. You feel like you are all on top of each other and, in fact, I kept on getting elbowed by the person next to me. As others have mentioned, it was a bit better when fully reclined and you were not as aware of being packed in like expensive sardines. The foot pod that allows you to go fully flat is off-center, forcing you to sleep in a specific way. I believe that the seat pitch is also shorter than other UA configurations that use legacy CO lie-flat seats. TV screens are larger and provide a nice entertainment experience.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Goldman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

ORD-HKG. This seat is not all that bad. While the food is not 5 star and the seat is not a pillow top mattress, it lies flat, the food is edible, service attentive. They are not Singapore, or Qatar Airways, but those two airlines don't serve my routes.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

24 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Bright

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Bizarre and uncomfortable business class cabin layout that includes both forward and backward facing seats. If you are traveling with someone you know very well it might be fine, but otherwise not. You have to share an armrest, which is not acceptable in today's business class. Also there is absolutely nowhere to store anything. And seat is uncomfortable in upright position as well as very narrow. Service is somewhat abrupt but pleasant enough. I would not fly this airline with this seat configuration again. Certainly not worth a $6k ticket for "business class" when compared to other airlines. Walked through 1st class while boarding and no way would want that for $10k. Short little "pods" with no privacy at all.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

L Lee

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My husband and I were flying from Sydney to San Francisco. We chose this flight because it is the only direct flight between SYD and SFO. Though we heard of the mostly negative reviews of UA business, they did not prepare me for the awful state of this aircraft 747-400. The seats were so tight, and you had to face the other passengers the whole flight because of the forward and backward seating arrangement of this flight (I guess to save space and make more money). There are eight seats per row, two seats on each end and four seats in the middle. Also, there was no seat pocket for you to store a magazine - I had to stuff my magazine on the side of my seat. The food was not edible and my husband had to wait 30 mins for his meal to arrive. Sleeping was uncomfortable since the seat was so narrow though the seat did extend flat. This was the worst business class we have ever been to.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

12 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Bearman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-ORD - Very disappointed with how cramped the business class seats are configured on this plane. Especially felt bad for the victim in 8H that had the lav light shining in his face the entire flight in a $6000 seat. The 2-4-2 configuration was tight. There is no way for the middle seats in the 4 section to get out when the aisle occupants reclined their seats. The service was fine, and it was better than flying in coach, but I was disappointed with the price/value ratio. I am not a fan of sitting backwards, so watch out for the rear facing seats in business class. Next time I'll look for an alternative if possible.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

John Bowers

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I was shocked by the packed business class section with 2-4-2 seat infighting with me assigned in the center. Extremely close, non private, stepping over. I broke into a sweat imagining this Hong Kong-SFO and thank god did a 20,000 mile on the spot upgrade to 2A in Global First, which was heaven. Beware United business first on 747. Might as well do economy plus vs business first. But global first 2A was awesome, private, up in nose of 747. Ratings below are for my initially assigned biz class seat not global first.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

C Anderson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

United is downgrading its p.s. service from LAX and SFO to JFK. It was 3 cabin service. They are going to 2 cabin with the new United (really Continental) Business/First seats, which are awful. As other reviewers have commented, the seats are so narrow, you feel squeezed and your body is always touching a hard surface side of the seat. Sleep is next to impossible. The linens and blankets are like coarse bargain store clear-outs at $1.00 each. United used to have great white linens and blankets. They now now use the Continental "yuk" blue. The high end finance and entertainment people used to pay for $3,000 or so for Business or First p.s. service on United coast to coast. They will no more with these horrible seats. I'd really rather be in coach than in these new seats. The old United p.s. Business seats were far more comfortable than these. Oh, and no Champagne on the flight, though the menu offered mimosas. Terrible headsets in First, the kind they hand out in coach with buds that hurt your ears and have lousy sound. And rather lousy flight attendant service. Not to mention their many computer crashes which have left passengers stranded for hours. Isn't United now ranked the worst airline in the U.S?



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J Korlo

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The crew were friendly, food acceptable but the best part was the seat. For a start, there were four different places to store books and personal items. Turndown service where they place a padded blanket on top of the seat to make it more comfortable. When laid flat the seat was the best I´ve experienced. With earplugs in all would have been perfect had it not been for a chatty crew in the galley. Avoid seats 1A and 1K if you want some rest because they´re too close to sources of light and noise.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Ljunggren

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

First class seat is excellent, there are four storage lockers of various sizes, and when the seat is extended fully you can easily sleep - extended, the seat is long and reasonably wide. The amenity pack is useful and the showers in the arrival lounge in Chicago were most welcome. The service was cool to the point of being chilly and the food was awful, just awful. Cold glutinous snacks were followed by inedible corn soup and then a tasteless beef steak with dessicated vegetables. The meal was shockingly bad. The chicken snack served an hour before arrival was of much higher quality. A mixed experience, but the quality of the seats alone mean I'd seriously look at flying United again.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Thornburgh

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great flat bed seats that are long enough for someone who is 6'3". Slept 8 hours. Can sleep on back, stomach or side. No tight spaces for feet or legs.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 787

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Gilbert Schwartz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My flight (EWR-IAH) was one of the first shortly after it was put into service. The arrival of the plane created quite a buzz at the gate and by the ground crew. The cabin interior is inviting and spacious with high ceiling, oversize storage bins, large windows and pleasing soft LED lighting. I was assigned seat 4E in business class - there are three classes: Business-First, Economy Plus and Economy. Business class is in a 2-2-2 configuration. IFE consisted of the standard choices on a 17" screen controlled by hand-held device or touch screen. Unfortunately, my system malfunctioned and the FA had to reboot the system several times throughout the flight. Seats (22" w. with 60" pitch) were comfortable when upright and very comfortable when in full flat bed recline. The controls were clearly marked and accessible. The lavatory is equipped with touch free fixtures. The air system is considered state-of-the-art and the cabin is pressurized to 6,000 ft. instead of the normal 8,000 ft. and this adds to the comfort. Overall the flight was quiet, smooth and comfortable which led to a very positive experience.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Paul Booth

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-SFO. As soon as I saw the seating arrangement I thought this is the worst business class I have ever experienced. A thought that became an even worse reality when I took my seat. I couldn't believe the middle 4 seats all faced forward meaning 'step overs' on a regular basis. The narrowness of the seats meant sleeping was really difficult, and sharing an arm rest was pathetic for a ticket that cost over £4000. Never again will I fly United.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Rick Salzer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

PEK-IAD last week in FC seats 1J/2J. My wife and I were booked on the new configuration 777 which we had on the IAD - PEK flight three weeks earlier. The newer seats were good, clean and comfortable. An aircraft change the day before our flight from Beijing delivered the old style FC. What a sad, old, worn, stained and flattened out high miles seat. The AV was a very old 8 or 9in screen that still used tapes you can borrow from a box in the front of the cabin. I haven't seen this type of AV since the 90's. I really can't say anything good about it. We had the newer aircraft booked for 6 months and I checked it several times a week but they changed it the day before the flight, also changed our seats. I was able go get back to seats 1 and 2 window on the UA website, but couldn't do anything about the aircraft. United's competition in the Asia market are light years ahead in seats, service, meals, drinks, cleanliness, AVOD. On this vacation trip we were using miles so it was less painful than if we had paid for the flights. Usually we pay and fly on Asian airlines. United's seats on the flight home are the reason we wouldn't pay to fly United even if the fare was half the going rate. Shame on United for presenting this 777 as a First Class product. Even if you book the new seats, unfortunatly there is nothing you can do to prevent UAL from switching aircraft at the last minute. I hope you never have to fly this aircraft or sit in these seats.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Smith

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seat 6D no privacy! Backward facing seat, no storage for carry on and no elbow room. The service from the flight attendant was well below par, not rude but just very bad. Forget about a second drink, and the service rushed so they could disappear. Omelette served cold, same as the coffee, the other breakfast choice was a little box of frosties. I will book a foreign carrier next time.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Diaz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Newark-Stockholm. No champagne on board (?). Little seat privacy. VERY uncomfortable lie flat seats. I had lower back pain during and after the flight. The seats are very narrow, I felt "boxed" and I'm 6'. Cheap plastic headphones which made very difficult to listen video. I fly Delta regularly and their new business class is a world apart from United. I won't fly United again.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Harper

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-FRA. Poor recliner seat that needed to be manually (not motorized) adjusted. I needed my entire body weight and my hands to generate enough leverage to operate the seat. No VOD entertainment. The video monitor was only slightly larger than my smartphone screen, and was broken and unable to be locked into place.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Agarwal

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-NRT on 747 Upper Deck and 777-200 from NRT-BKK, both with flat-bed seats. I have to say while many of the complaints about the United seats and FA's may be justified, I found the flights very comfortable. I am 6"2 and was able to sleep in the lie flat position without much issues. AVOD selection great for the 9+ hour flight. The flight attendants were, surprisingly, pleasant on both legs. Food was medicore but they kept coming around to refill drinks etc. A definite perk of sitting in the more private upper deck. United will never compare with the Asian airlines, its not a bad business- class product - better than all of the other North American airline options.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

9 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Loth

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Horrible seats. I'm a 1K traveler and United has been promising for 5 years that they would replace the old, Seats go full flat. However, the seats are so narrow that even a normal male with average build cannot lie down comfortably. My shoulders continuously touched the Armrest on one side and the frame on the other side and I consider myself rather slim. As a previous reviewed stated "laid out like sardines" pretty much describes it all. Sleeping was not possible. Service from FAs was sub-par for international Business Class. Entertainment was good. Given that you have passengers next to you on international 777, privacy is simply non-existant and you have to share an armrest.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

3 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Nicolaisen

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Horrible seats. I'm a 1K traveler and United has been promising for 5 years that they would replace the old, Barcalounger seats on their planes. Yet I still get stuck in the old seats. My last flight to Brussels from Newark, the seat's power did not work. The flight attendants had to physically force the seat into different positions.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

3 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Meyer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flew roundtrip IAD-LHR on 777-200s, equipped with United's new business class seats in both directions. The new IFE was excellent, and seats were fairly comfortable when sitting upright or partially reclined. The seats were not especially comfortable when adjusted to flat bed positions. They were simply too narrow (what do you expect when you do 8-across in a 777 - that's just one less seat across than in coach), and caused my lower back to ache. I think everyone else had the same issue, judging by the fact that two thirds of the way into our overnight flight to London, I didn't spot any seats still in the flat position. Also, the backwards facing seats are slightly awkward, since aircraft generally fly at a slightly upward tilted angle. If you didn't recline your seat, you'd feel like you were going to slide off it. Finally, storage space was virtually non-existent. All bags of any size had to be stored in the overheads for take-off and landing, and their wasn't so much as a seat-back pocket to store a laptop or reading material in.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

3 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C Chan

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The upper deck was comfortable, quiet and private. I sat in a rear facing seat in the aisle. The arm rest lowers for more space. Seat is padded and controls worked well. PTV was very large and a huge selection.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Ian Graham

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Downgraded from paid First Class to Business, not a great start to the evening. Equipment change they said. After a 45 minute wait at the gate I was assigned a seat, 6H, in Business Class that already had a passenger in it. I have no idea where he ended up. Seats are so narrow that I could not lie on my back when fully reclined. No floor storage, facing backwards, inedible food. Never again. If UA wants to compete on international business class they will have to do something about their seats.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Goncharoff

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Booked and paid for a flat bed seat. For the second time in a year got a worn out chair instead. Reminded me of first class seats in the 80s - cracked leather and 55" pitch - not helpful for an overnight flight.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-400

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Carson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Newark-Rome return. AVOD worked flawlessly with great movie selection. The problem was the seat which was extremely uncomfortable for sleep. To attempt to lie-flat, the design forces the feet into a cubbyhole within the seat in front. I am 6'2" and the 55" pitch between seats is just not adequate. There was no way to adjust the seat to be comfortable.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J West

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

IAD-EZE-IAD, a comfortable flight, and a reasonable nights sleep. So the seat does its job. Real criticism is the lack of useful storage space. There is a lot of space but it isn't particularly useful. And the various controls are confusing - had a hard time find my overhead light switch. No convenient place to put a computer for example. And there is not a lot of privacy. My only real question would be whether it is worth the extra cost relative the business class seats right behind me. As long as my seat goes 180 degrees flat, I'm not sure much else matters.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Henry Lodge

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My first experience with United after being a Continental customer for years. The United lie-flat seats are well below the quality of the Continental lie-flat seats. They are adequate, but are narrower with almost no storage space at the seat. United crams 8 seats in the same space Continental put 6 seats. With alternate rows facing opposite directions, it was a bit disconcerting to be looking directly at the passenger in the next row across the aisle.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Jim Sylph

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

EWR-BRU, B777 had been fully reconditioned. Seats comfortable and flat. Blanket was a thin duvet which was quite warm enough. Crew were friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the 2-4-2 cabin layout with all four center seats facing backwards.


 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Shapiro

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

And absolutely terrible experience all the way around. Flew from KOA to SFO in seats one A1 and 1B. Very limited legroom, terrible FA attitudes, horrible food. I will avoid if possible.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757-200

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Reiner Kesternich

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

KOA-LAX upgrade to First Class. Well, what they call First Class on their domestic fleet. Neither was the seat pitch that much higher compared to Economy Plus on the same aircraft nor were the seats very comfortable at all. Head rests too short to get a good sleep on this overnight flight. No PTV available. I'd call this one aged, they could do an upgrade on this cabin.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

30 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Catherine Cockburn

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-SYD. Great night's sleep in decent sized lie flat bed. Very comfortable with good support. Felt heaps wider than their Business class beds and definitely more comfortable! Entertainment system the same as Business class but poor movie offerings. The lap and sash style seat belt offered for First Class passengers was curious. Was the sash supposed to save you more so than the offerings in Business and Cattle class? The sash was very uncomfortable, cutting across my throat. Food was good, service okay. Comfy pillows and doona.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-400ER

Date

26 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Gloor

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

IAH-FRA BusinessFirst Row 1. Fine United Club lounge Terminal E in Houston. Went to gate around boarding time, showed passport again to get a yellow mark on boarding pass and waited just about 10 min for boarding. Was well organized with boarding groups, procedure was enforced, means passenger of groups later were declined priority access. Fine service on board, nice food and IFE provided quite a lot of movies and music of all kinds. Seat reclined well, was quite hard and headrest was a bit of an obstacle. Seats are close together in outboard rows, but stepping over the aisle passenger was possible. Privacy in reclined position very good. Middle rows are single seats (2-1-2). Over all much better experience the flight out of Frankfurt with LH.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

25 July 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Steve Pierson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

ORD-MUC in the new 2-4-2 configuration. Hard to find the right words to describe the disappointment. Positives: Lie flat. Negatives: Economy-like width, no storage space, no personal space, step-overs by seat neighbors, reach-overs by flight attendants. Claustrophobic environment - high priced cattle car. The biggest disappointment is that this is the configuration that we will be stuck with for the next decade. 1K member but will look to other Star Alliance partners for long-haul routes even if they only have canted, 160 degree recline.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

25 July 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Hermida

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The seats on BusinessFirst are comfortable but the upright position is not that comfortable, there is no adjustment to view the TV screen closer, they have used the same seat belts as in the other classes, and for these larger seats, it does not work well (they become shorter). BusinessFirst food is not that good.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

27 May 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Koenig

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Business-First (no separate first class) on international flight. 2x1x2 configuration. Not lie-flat, so sleeping not as good as, say, on the same type of aircraft in US Airways business class. Cloth, not leather seats. Video monitors confusing to use at times.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   CRJ 700 and BOEING 777-200

Date

27 May 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Tiong Shen

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

YYZ-IAD (1A), IAD-LHR (1J), both in first class on Jan 10. aircraft interior was old and dirty, especially from IAD to LHR, Old version of the first class seat and it was very uncomfortable, little choice of movie selection. Foods and drinks was below industry first class standard. Surprisingly, the service was good by their UK based FA, friendly, attentive and service was quick. Seat 1J is the worst first class seat in the cabin, it is right in-front of the kitchen, so, you can hardly get some sleep due to the area is constantly busy.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 757

Date

27 May 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Iain Ponton

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

B757 EDI-EWR in April 2012. New BF Seats are not too bad. Width is good. Seat has lots of good storage, and plenty of sockets including USB and a worldwide power socket. If you want to use your own headphones you need a two pronger adaptor. I like that theres a small storage area to keep your cell phone and laptop near to you but out the way. I only have two problems with the seat - I'm nearly 6'3 and have size 12 feet. Meaning that for me I can't recline the seat all the way flat as I simply won't fit and the little cubby hole for your feet just wasn't that comfortable. Its true that if travelling on your own, and you get the window seat its a bit of a pain clambering over the person next to you, so hope you neighbour is a pleasant person or make sure and get an isle seat. The entertainment was quite good. RelAtively good system. If you have an Iphone you can buy a ps2 style plug and watch you own movies on the screen.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

27 May 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Vibora

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Horrible 2x4x2 new configuration, terrible for shoulders and back or stomach sleepers. 19 inch width is an absolute economy sized disaster. No deck level storage. No privacy and many stepovers required.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

27 May 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Stratford

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-LHR. Plane was changed at the last minute to the one of the old 777's, 1970's stylee. Carpet on the walls, you know the type. For the money I paid, I was pretty miffed. Food was good, IFE terrible, staff pretty good, lounge at San Fran was a shocker. I flew out into LAX on the updated 777 which wasn't great, although still amazing to fly in business class compared with economy (just to put things into perspective). Compared with BA / Virgin, this is bottom of the list, United have got a lot of work to do to woo European customers.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

27 May 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Stratford

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR to LAX. Newly fitted 777, I have to say that the designers really screwed up with this seat configuration. BA have the same no of seats, ie 2-4-2, but as they are forward and rear facing alternately, there is WAY more room. On this United flight, there is zero privacy, I had a hysterical woman next to me for 12 hours and I may as well have been on her lap we were so close. Seats when flat aren't long enough, I'm 6'2", and they are just about wide enough. IFE was pretty good and worked fine, food was great, service was pretty good too. Out of all the business class flights I've taken around the world, this is right at the bottom I'm afraid along with South African. I only booked it because it was the cheapest, and for a reason. BA / Virgin to LA are both streets ahead, their lounges are awesome, and the seats are better in EVERY way.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Banke

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

B747 upper deck. For a traveling couple this was a good option. The upper deck avoids the cramped 2-4-2 layout in the main deck of the 747 and gives storage space next to the window. Their entertainment system is good and equipped with a wide screen. The seats become flat which enabled me to sleep. Service was OK in the upper deck as well. When traveling another aircraft or the lower deck I would go for a window seat as the seat is rather narrow and has no storage space.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Goodfriend

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HNL to DEN, old Continental aircraft. Standard first generation business class seats. Seat 1A, limited recline. Continental, not UA cabin crew. Efficient, quiet.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J Weiss

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Although an improvement over the previous guises of United's First Class seats, it still falls short of many of its competitors. Reasonably comfortable and intuitive controls are pluses. There is no floor storage for carry-ons, everything must go into the overhead bins. Seat 2A may be a little more private than some others on this aircraft, but it is right next to a service cupboard that was frequently accessed by the flight attendants which was a little disruptive. Seat 2K would probably be a better choice.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

26 February 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

S Schwartz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

New First Class seats were excellent, fine for sitting or sleeping. But the least friendly staff I have ever experienced in First of our experiences with BA, AF, LX and LH. What a shame since it is a fine product - and smiles are free!



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Borenius

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

B747-400 in Seat 6D from Chicago to Hong Kong and must say the experience is nowhere nearContinental's BusinessFirst class. United seat is facing backwards, not a big problem even though the landing feels very odd, but sitting in a group of four seats across doesn't feel right in business class. Very narrow! The guy on my left occupied both armrests with his elbow, the guy on the right rested his elbow on my seat controls. I had to ask him to move his elbow to be able to control my seat. It's very difficult for the flight attendants to reach over to your sea, there was essentially no storage room and you are not allowed to keep anything during take-off and landing. I couldn't even find a pocket for the magazine. I don't know what they were thinking when they designed this.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Mark Taylor

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

It's a flat bed but it's only an inch wider than Economy and the world's only 2-4-2 configuration for Business Class - laid out like sardines in a tin. Gulag-style service from FAs that hate their job and want everyone to know it. I couldn't meet the flight attendant's schedule for leisurely drink service and therefore got an exasperated sigh for asking for a second before they were ready to serve. Then dinner was at a quick pace so FAs could settle down to chat and ignore us - couldn't finish quick enough for them and therefore missed dessert. The lack of the most basic of polite communications skills of these FAs - who shout out "whaddaya want, white or red wine?" is just shameful. Do yourself a favor - if you or your employer is paying business class fares, book a European carrier or Continental.



UNITED AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Mark Pimble

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Los Angeles to Tokyo in first class. Crew wonderful, seats were comfortable, and food and wine good. The seats are beat- up and video could be better. At 6’2” I was able to stretch out and sleep. We normally purchase business or first class tickets because of the uncertainty of upgrades so our standards are high. We had flown on Continental in business to Lima earlier in the year and hated it, so if United does become more like Continental we will look for another alliance.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

27 October 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Nwaneri

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I hope United reads these reviews because frankly, they are disgraceful for a big airline like this. I used to be a 1K member and was happy to finally let go of the poor service and rude attendants. I switched to Continental and have been quite happy with the service - and now they merge! BRU-EWR operated by United had me in a plane that the FAA should ban from flying. The seats barely reclined, lights left on the entire trip with not a care. Entertainment was a joke. And I see the attendants are still as rude as ever.



UNITED AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

21 September 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Tony Lythgoe

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

United have made a big song and dance about their new lay flat beds in business class that are, frankly, very average. What is worse is when you buy a business class ticket expecting a lay flat bed and they change the plane at the last minute and you get the old, hardly recline broken seats with a defunct laptop power supply (and no converters on board). I took 925 from Heathrow to Washington earlier this month and had precisely this problem. What was worse was that the flight crew advised that this happens on a regular basis and encouraged me to complain and gave me an apology card with a link to a token of their appreciation. Imagine how appreciated I felt when I logged on to the web site and was offered a $50 voucher off flights booked in the USA with a US credit card or 10% of domestic travel - I live in Australia and only fly business class. Cheated, that's how I feel. Don't fly business class on United until the fleet is fully converted.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 September 2011  by R Hahn

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Pitiful. Seats are old and uncomfortable. Imagine going from FCO to IAD and there being no snacks in First and they ran out of various wines! The cabin was not even full. Entertainment was weak and screen size small. I hope the newer product is an improvement.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   13 September 2011  by D Steuer

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The international business class seat is quite nice, pretty comfortable, and had enough length for me to stretch out pretty comfortable when laying flat. However seat 9J should really be avoided. It is right next to the galley, and any hopes of sleep were dashed by the banging and gabbing by the FA's next to me. Add bright lights to the mix. Really, they should charge less for the galley seats.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   13 September 2011  by D Woodward

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

FRA-SFO on a 777 with the new configuration. Seats lay flat. The light massage in the back of the seat helped to keep my back from hurting by the end of the flight. On demand video and audio is good.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011  by D Wong

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats were pretty comfortable. As others have mentioned, the 2-4-2 configuration seems a bit tight especially for the passengers in the middle seat. Luckily, I had an aisle seat. AVOD was ok but I wished they had more selection of first run films. On the return trip, I was in the upper deck and there was definitely less space to move around especially for the window passenger. Plus, there seemed to be less space for your feet when you are sleeping on the upper deck. On both levels, they need more storage space to hold personal items. The ledge below the video screen doesn't provide much space plus items can slide around.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011  by S Adam

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats in the Upper Deck are quiet and feel more secluded compared to downstairs. Actual seats are quite comfortable and well padded. Only negative to United business is the space where your feet go - it's a little small, but overall, for the cost, I'd use United again. No issue with the forward/back issue and looking at someone the whole flight - I had an aisle seat and it didn't seem to be an issue. Cabin crew were disinterested and pretty unfriendly, but what else do you expect from United.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011  by A Tan

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The service was courteous and efficient, meals were very good and the lie-flat seats gave us a decent sleep for a change compared to economy. Check-in staff were helpful and the flights were on time. Red Carpet /Star Alliance lounges in Melbourne and Sydney great. The only gripe would be the Red carpet Lounge in LAX which did not have food service like the other lounges, only drinks and snacks. All in all we would fly United again.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011  by S Pierce

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

PVG to LAX, I have flown the new seats several times and they are comfortable and competitive with other airline's product. Where I have an issue is with the soft product. I snagged a menu from business class and there was very little different between the food choices between Business and First. One additional entree choice and one different wine choice; that was all! UA should not be charging for first class when they are just a business class product with better seats. Not to mention the FAs do not have the stamina to work these long flights.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 July 2011  by N Hallman

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I was appalled when I saw the setup for Business Class on the 777. These planes seriously need to be retired or completely revamped! Ours was worn, outdated, basically substandard and a big disappointment. The television/movie screens on this airplane look like Fisher Price toys. Ridiculously dinky. The seats are not comfortable. We felt that we received extremely poor value for the price of our tickets.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 July 2011  by R Town

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I try to pick an upper deck seat. The seats are comfortable, and privacy and quiet you get is a nice bonus.



UNITED AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 July 2011  by D Layne

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New configuration had the lie-flat seats, but I felt the seat was too narrow and constraining for comfort when lying down. However, the range of motion provided by the leg and foot rests, and seat back, allowed for comfortable and varied positions throughout the flight. The real downside to this new configuration is the lack of front-facing seats. The first leg of the trip was less than an hour - Bahrain to Kuwait - but I was in a rear facing seat and it was torture - I got so motion-sick. Fortunately, for the second leg I was able to procure a front facing seat in the first row. Otherwise, the front facing seats face rear-facing seats like a train. Unless traveling with a number of friends or family members, way too intimate for my taste - even across the aisle. Bottom line - I prefer the "old" business class seats - much roomier, could even tuck my feet up and had more flexibility in shifting body weight to the left or right. The new ones pretty much force our bodies to align straight forward.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.