Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Qantas Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Qantas Airways First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

QANTAS AIRWAYS First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

PAGE

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




QANTAS A380 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 April 2011  by Jeff Gardner

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

What a disappointment on so many levels. I flew in first on the A380 that Qantas uses for the LAX to MEL flight. I had an "A" window-side suite thinking it would offer more privacy. It did not. Because the cabin crew pretty much allows a passenger to convert the seat into a bed whenever the pax wants, and because converting from seat to bed takes so much work and makes so much noise, nearby passengers (like me) get jarred out of their sleep. The swivel seats are gimmicky and the ottoman is too small. AVOD screen is large but the choice of programming is poor compared to other carriers like NZ and CX. The cabin temp was much too warm and seats have no air vents. Catering was very, very poor. The product is simply not worth the cost and I can't recommend it to you.



QANTAS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 April 2011  by Jeff Gardner

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I flew in first class on one of Qantas' older 747-400 aircraft from Brisbane to LAX, in seat 4E. While these older style seats don't offer a great deal of privacy, I found them to be at least equal to if not superior to the new first-class "suite" on the A-380. The seat offers good comfort for sitting and I was able to get 5 or 6 hours of comfortable sleep. The pop out tray table is large and allows you to easily get up out of the seat. Because the beds don't have to be assembled or made up, the nose-area cabin remained quiet and peaceful throughout the flight and the blue lighting was very relaxing. The AVOD screen is the one disappointing surprise; the screen was very small and the Q system programming offered little selection and was cumbersome to use. On the other hand, catering and cabin crew service were excellent in all respects. I hear that Qantas plans to eliminate first class on its 747 aircraft, which to me is a shame. With some updating, the first class product on the Qantas 747 is vastly superior to the first class suites on the A-380.



QANTAS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 April 2011  by N Ashkanasy

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Pod seats are good, but they slope down, so that I found myself constantly having to pull myself up the slope. Seats in BA and NZL are simpler and far superior.



QANTAS BOEING A380 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 April 2011  by J Dooley

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

My first thought when going into the business cabin was the sense of space. You have a lot more room than on the usual Qantas business class flight. The seat was excellent. I struggled to sleep on the previous flights due to the angled flat sets, however no such problem here.



QANTAS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   6 April 2011  by J Bennett

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I find the "pod" design seat extremely hard, rigid and terribly uncomfortable even when sitting as there is a bar that goes right underneath you. You cannot put the seat in full recline position as you end up with your feet lower than your head and you continually slide down. Not too sure what it does for your blood circulation in this position. All night you hear people adjusting the controls to get into a position that is semi comfortable. I also find there is hardly any privacy with just a tiny little screen and the person in the window seat has to climb over the top of you. This flight had 3 seats in the middle row - more like Premier Economy than Business Class. Video screens are miniscule. All in all a pathetic attempt at a decent seat.



QANTAS BOEING 747 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 February 2011  by K West

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Hard seat base and sloped angle when fully extended make it really hard to sleep because you feel like you are sliding off. I am a side sleeper I have to pad the seat with folded blankets to overcome the pain factor. Privacy could be improved by extending the size of the privacy divider.



QANTAS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   15 February 2011  by C Stimson

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

London Heathrow - Hong Kong on the Upper deck in 17J (Aisle Seat). Row 16 is the must have row on the upper deck. No seat directly in front of you due to the emergency exit and a TV that comes out of the arm rest. Seat is quite hard and rigid upright but comfy when 85% flat. I'm not a fan of these beds that have a slope but it wasn't too bad. IFE average at best. Food and service was excellent. The seat on BA is far better and you don't get someone having to jump over you to relieve themselves, but the food and service on Qantas ahead of BA.



QANTAS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010  by A Ingram

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

When entering the cabin I was surprised to see how dated it was with the wood finish. But the seat was comfortable and amenities plentiful. The sleep suit was good quality and plenty of pillows. The toilet was of a higher standard than others and was always clean. VOD was very good and plenty to watch.



QANTAS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 October 2010  by K Golding

Aircraft

Airbus A380

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is far too narrow. Service is friendly and attentive, food good, with reasonable selection of wines. Onboard lounge is a nice touch though the seats are not designed for you to linger there too long!



QANTAS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 July 2010  by J Teoh

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Skybed seats are angled lie-flat, which are not that comfortable for sleeping. The seat is quite hard and pitch feels a little restricted when the seat is in sleep mode. The seat also feels a little narrow, which also makes it harder for sleeping. Otherwise, the rest of the seat design is pretty good. The shell design provided more privacy than expected.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010  by Alan Pigott

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

A380 fit out is a transformation improvement over the 747 but it still doesn't come together. I flew London to Sydney and the colour and overall design is very pleasant but already the fit out is looking tired. The toilets are tiny. 4 separate features on my seat were already broken and the AV had to be reset at least once per leg. Service was very pleasant and warm but lacking attention to detail. The seat is very nice.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010  by P Eliet

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

A really great seat product. The buddy seat provides a confortable seat so that you can dine with your partner easily. The best seats are 2A, 3A and 4A. Avoid the middle seats even if travelling with a partner.



QANTAS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   4 February 2010  by Mark Dorrell

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

First time on Qantas Business AKL to LAX and then LAX to JFK and it is time that Qantas upgraded these seats so that they are truly fully flat rather than angled flat. That said the seat was generally quite comfortable but on the narrow side and with some quite surprising shortcomings. Very little storage space, fairly flimsy table, fixed IFE screens and I accidentally touched the handset several times due to it's positioning in the armrest. Comfortable on the whole though I found the armrests being at different heights somewhat disconcerting! I was also glad to be in 4E on the 2 class configuration as it meant no climbing over anyone or being climbed over - not an easy task if neighbour 's seat is in sleep mode. Found the seats ugly and the cabin felt cramped because of the huge shells housing the seats.



QANTAS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   4 February 2010  by N Williams

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is comfortable (but not perfect) for sitting and pretty good with the laptop. Storage for water bottle works nicely but books tricky. Bed is a bit of a shocker with the angle. BA is streets ahead on that.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   4 February 2010  by Peter Dutschke

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I could not agree more with Mr Atkins. The entire suite is impacted greatly by anyone walking past - the rocking motion becomes quite annoying after a while. Furthermore, the take-off and landing position is awkward and restricting - I see no benefit in the swivel movement - it would be better if the seat was fixed in the position facing the window. The seat was generally comfortable in most seating, lounging and sleeping positions. The controls do take a while to get used to though - but this is how it these days with all the modern electrical advancements. The mattress and fitted sheet do add extra comfort when the seat is in bed mode. Overall a good hard product, but is it worth the extra cost when business class also has completely flat beds on the A380?



QANTAS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   4 February 2010  by Todd Macleod

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-HKG-MEL seats are just ok. They are not as private and not flat as other airlines, but are comfortable.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 September 2009  by Bill Atkins

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

At first I was impressed by this seat, but after flying on Cathay Pacific in their new First seat I see many shortcomings in the Qantas product in terms of privacy. There is an open space by the window that means both light and noise come into the seat area from those in front and behind. I did find this irritating on the long trip from London to Sydney. Also there is considerable vibration to be felt in the seat whenever someone passes, especially if it is a running child. The colour scheme is meant to be sophisticated but just ends up being boring.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 September 2009  by M Rigoll

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Avoid row 24 if at all claustrophobic. This row is level with the doors and as such has NO windows (other than a very small window in a foot thick door with a distorted panel in it making it impossible to see out of). Because of the "pod" structure of the seats it isn't even possible to see out of anyone of the main windows either. The row behind us had 3 large windows! There is also a toilet sign right in front of Row 24 but the actual toilet is at the front of the next section. Quite a number of passengers tried the nearby coat cupboard and all turned to me to find out where the actual toilet was. I was amazed at the number of people who actually then proceeded to walk over the top of us and our gear on the floor to get to the other side. On a positive note, the lie flat seats are roomy and you avoid that feeling of sliding toward the floor the whole time.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 September 2009  by S Williams

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat 2A. Spacious cabin, little privacy due to the layout. Excellent cabin crew. The seat had plenty of length but could have been wider, needed more storage and a larger TV screen. Excellent food and wine list.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 July 2009  by M Dorrell

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

It is such a shame that the cabin and the seats are looking so tatty - held together by tape in some instances. The seats are narrow and lacking in padding - length is ok. I was comfortable enough on the daytime flight from HKG to SYD but know that it would not have been ideal should I have wanted to sleep for any length of time. Enjoyed being in 1A - as private as it gets in the cabin though the FAs did access the closet at the front quite a lot during the flight - fine as not sleeping etc but would not be ideal if I had been trying to sleep. TV monitor is small by the best of today's standards and picture quality not great but good choice as ever.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009  by Geoffrey Carver

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

A very good experience on the upper deck from London to Sydney. A very well thought out and executed design.



QANTAS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009  by Nick Beaton

Aircraft

A380

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

A380 LHR to Sydney in the new 1st class "suite". The plane is impressive but the seat - actually more a tiny room - is stunning. Loads of well thought out storage and lighting and a wide seat with 3 point seat belt like a car. The seat swivels diagonally across the suite for sleeping (and watching the video). The staff lay out a mattress when you want to sleep that irons out any little last bumps. The pyjamas and duvet finish off the effect. Privacy panels rise up to chest height at the touch of a button and even the window shades are electrically operated. Technically a couple could not sit together as each passenger is in his/her own space, but you can eat together, as the table is huge and the suite has a sizeable jump seat with its own seatbelt.



 



 

REVIEWS

PAGE

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.