Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Air Canada

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Air Canada Executive First Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

AIR CANADA Executive First Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




AIR CANADA BOEING 777-300 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 May 2011   by M Kirkup

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The pod seating on Air Canada combines the worst of both worlds - hard & narrow when trying to sleep, tight and uncomfortable when seated. They have managed to eliminate any storage space, there's nowhere to even put reading glasses or a book. It makes you long for the space that came with the old J Class seats, as you try to emulate a sardine squeezing into a can.




AIR CANADA A330 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 April 2011   by L Trabadello

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

It is comfortable in a variety of positions and a full lie-flat bed, with the added bonus of being able to raise the top portion of the seat for a very comfortable position. It is not extremely wide but definitely better than economy. I enjoy the privacy and aisle access at every seat. Service is friendly and food choices excellent. There are probably better (and worse) products out there but Air Canada's Executive First suites are a joy to travel in.




AIR CANADA A330 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011   by David Ljunggren

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I wasn't blown away by the seat or the service. There is no individual ventilation nozzle on this plane and air becomes pretty stuffy. The main problem with the pods is that there is nowhere to store anything larger than a small paperback book. The seats are pretty hard and it's not easy to sleep, even when the bed is reclined fully. It beats flying in economy but I'd certainly look elsewhere next time.




AIR CANADA BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011   by D Lightner

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

What a disappointment! Can't see out window without contorting self and invading neighbour's space. Absurdly complicated controls; even the flight attendant couldn't tell me what one of the numerous annoying, glowing icons meant. Entertainment system did not work. Attendant said it previously had been reported as failed, so my pod should not have been used, but plane full, so tough luck. No compensation of any kind offered. Unless "bed" is almost completely flat, blue lighting comes on automatically and cannot be switched off. Carry-on bag must either be permanently jammed into the tiny space under the footrest or else moved out into the aisle and then back again whenever you want to lie down or sit up. Bed is hard and uneven when flat. Width is narrow, more like an economy than a normal business-class seat. When lying flat, area for head and upper body does not line up with little nook for feet. That means that if you are tall (I am 5' 11"), you have to twist your spine to sleep on your back, yet the "bed" is so narrow that it is almost impossible to sleep on your side either. Consequently, I spent all night only partially reclined and with that blue light shining in my eyes. I would infinitely rather have been in an old-time business-class seat.




AIR CANADA A330 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011   by F Abraham

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The pods are slanted but it gives a lot of privacy to single passengers. I like the fact they are individual and you do not have to disturb the next passenger. The storage space is adequate but I felt that they could use the room a bit more intelligently. The entertainment system seems to freeze a lot especially with the map service.




AIR CANADA A330-300 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011   by James Williamson

Aircraft

A330-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat is very comfortable however I felt very closed in. I was not that keen on the way it faces out towards the Aisle. Forget looking out of the window as this is nearly impossible as it is behind you. I found the seats to be quite dirty with a lot of dirt imbetween the joins of the different seat cushions.




AIR CANADA BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011   by B Bruel

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

IFE was very good with a good selection, especially for the kids. I found the seats to be a tad hard but much better than some US airlines I have been on. The only thing that I really disliked was the fact that when I was in the upright position, I could not see out the window.




AIR CANADA BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   15 February 2011   by David Gale

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

B777 had pod seats which are private and comfortable unless you are above-average height or weight. Food and drink standards were reasonable, but IFE had a poor selection of films and certain features advertised (including news) were unavailable.




AIR CANADA BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010   by P Rejchrt

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The privacy of the pods is exceptional and great even if travelling with a companion. Seats 1A/2A and communication on an overnight flight was not an issue. FAs very friendly and helpful despite having to issue a reminder that the footrest is exactly that and not an ottoman as in the Air New Zealand config. Cabin crew very proactive in rectifying issues - when I was unable to switch off my reading light I got a travel voucher against future flights.




AIR CANADA BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010   by M Raymond

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat was fine, I am 6'2" and not a skinny fellow, but it was adequate. Lighting is interesting in the upright position a strip of blue leds go on. The space was also a little cramped viz a viz stowaway space and working space. I ended up dumping duvet and pillow in the space behind the head which worked well.




AIR CANADA BOEING 777-300 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010   by V Abell

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

We found the pod seats comfortable at all the positions. I would agree with most reviews that it is not conducive to conversation if travelling as a couple, but on the return journey my husband and I had window seats so sat one behind the other. This was our choice. As the return is a night flight, conversation would have been limited anyway.




AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 July 2010   by C Gelmon

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Enjoyed the Pod seat as I was traveling alone Frankfurt - Calgary. There are various adjustments that one can make to get it just right, whether sitting upright, sleeping flat, or sleeping with a slightly raised head. You just need to figure out the way the seat adjusts. IFE was ok as was the food and service.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   7 June 2010   by Doug Disher

Aircraft

B777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Sydney/Vancouver return. Great if you're on your own, very private layout. Traveled with my wife and was unable to communicate much. On the return we were in 1A and 1B, but I was actually level with another passenger across the aisle in row 2. Staff reasonably helpful but not as friendly as most other Canadians we've met. In terms of food, reasonable. Comfort of flat bed not brilliant but adequate.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010   by Bob Mitchell

Aircraft

B777-300ER

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

YYZ-CDG-YYZ Return flight a week apart, sitting in the same 'pod' seats 2K 3G which gave us across the aisle positions in this configuration - but not what you'd call conversational. Window seat had a view window. I found the 'lie flat' position uncomfortable and felt my head was lower than my feet. Also didn't like the seat shape to a point at the head and at the foot. The seat width was much narrower than I thought it would be, and found it uncomfortable to turn over while trying to sleep. Flight attendants were very nice going and return. Food left a lot to be desired. For the return flight, I checked the evening before on the AC site which said there were 18 unsold business class seats - yet I noticed that all the seats were filled when we went on board. Entertainment system broke down on both legs of the return flight but was reset on board, so it was more a nuisance than a disaster - one flight attendant told me it happens on almost every flight.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010   by David Loukidelis

Aircraft

A330/Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I find the pod seats roomy enough and comfortable because they are lie-flat. I can understand how couples or families travelling together might not like the herringbone pod arrangement, but for single travellers, it's a plus in my view. Stowage for personal effects is adequate if not roomy. Amenity kits are skimpy for this class. The blankets are very good, but the pillows could be larger perhaps. Video screen size and clarity are great, but IFE selection is usually spotty, often lacking current enough movies for longhaul durations.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010   by L Eckhardt

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Good attentive service and stand up bar good. Setbacks are the lack of seat storage space, but big overhead bins can hold a lot. Another thing is the well discussed topic of travelling together - if you want to talk to a partner, the best option is across the aisle.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 January 2010   by Thomas Anderson

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new pod seats give you your own alcove. Nevertheless the seats are extremely hard, and if you are a "side" sleeper like me, expect to debark with painful hips. Food was average, as was the service. IFE was okay. I think main conclusion was that the privacy is excellent, it fully reclines, but it is not a comfy sleep. And in a sitting position, due to the angle and configuration, everybody is sitting with their feet on the "ledge" in front of you (in full recline used as feet part of the bed). Don't be too long or you have nowhere to stick your feet.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 January 2010   by Ann Scott

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-YYZ return. We felt like battery hens in these miserable pods. Like bed-settees they failed in both functions - uncomfortable as seats and beds. The very restricted access to the windows, the lack of space for books, specs etc within the pod and the isolation from one's travelling companion made for a very tedious flight.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009   by John Owen

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat comfort was much better than the old style seats. Service reasonable, although not up with Asian airlines. IFE worked well both ways and headphones good. My biggest gripe about the new seats is the angle, very difficult to see out of the window and as I normally travel for pleasure with my wife on this route the new seats make for a lonesome 9 hours in the air.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010   by Bob Mitchell

Aircraft

B777-300ER

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

YYZ-CDG-YYZ Return flight a week apart, sitting in the same 'pod' seats 2K 3G which gave us across the aisle positions in this configuration - but not what you'd call conversational. Window seat had a view window. I found the 'lie flat' position uncomfortable and felt my head was lower than my feet. Also didn't like the seat shape to a point at the head and at the foot. The seat width was much narrower than I thought it would be, and found it uncomfortable to turn over while trying to sleep. Flight attendants were very nice going and return. Food left a lot to be desired. For the return flight, I checked the evening before on the AC site which said there were 18 unsold business class seats - yet I noticed that all the seats were filled when we went on board. Entertainment system broke down on both legs of the return flight but was reset on board, so it was more a nuisance than a disaster - one flight attendant told me it happens on almost every flight.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010   by David Loukidelis

Aircraft

A330/Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I find the pod seats roomy enough and comfortable because they are lie-flat. I can understand how couples or families travelling together might not like the herringbone pod arrangement, but for single travellers, it's a plus in my view. Stowage for personal effects is adequate if not roomy. Amenity kits are skimpy for this class. The blankets are very good, but the pillows could be larger perhaps. Video screen size and clarity are great, but IFE selection is usually spotty, often lacking current enough movies for longhaul durations.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010   by L Eckhardt

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Good attentive service and stand up bar good. Setbacks are the lack of seat storage space, but big overhead bins can hold a lot. Another thing is the well discussed topic of travelling together - if you want to talk to a partner, the best option is across the aisle.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 January 2010   by Thomas Anderson

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new pod seats give you your own alcove. Nevertheless the seats are extremely hard, and if you are a "side" sleeper like me, expect to debark with painful hips. Food was average, as was the service. IFE was okay. I think main conclusion was that the privacy is excellent, it fully reclines, but it is not a comfy sleep. And in a sitting position, due to the angle and configuration, everybody is sitting with their feet on the "ledge" in front of you (in full recline used as feet part of the bed). Don't be too long or you have nowhere to stick your feet.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 January 2010   by Ann Scott

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-YYZ return. We felt like battery hens in these miserable pods. Like bed-settees they failed in both functions - uncomfortable as seats and beds. The very restricted access to the windows, the lack of space for books, specs etc within the pod and the isolation from one's travelling companion made for a very tedious flight.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009   by John Owen

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat comfort was much better than the old style seats. Service reasonable, although not up with Asian airlines. IFE worked well both ways and headphones good. My biggest gripe about the new seats is the angle, very difficult to see out of the window and as I normally travel for pleasure with my wife on this route the new seats make for a lonesome 9 hours in the air.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009   by Patrick Armstrong

Aircraft

B777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats offer lots of privacy, but are quite hard. In the landing/takeoff position seats are poor - I spend most time semi reclined or full down. I’m only 5’10” and had enough length but couldn’t imagine being 6’1” plus. TV good size, back massager didn’t really do much.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009   by Michelle Mader

Aircraft

Boeing 767-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

YYZ to EZE and back in Executive First. The seats were not very comfortable upright for take off and landing but everything in between was pretty relaxing. We both slept pretty well. I do wish however that they would give you more than one pillow. They are comfortable but very small. The blanket is large and has some type of down to make it a bit plush. I used it with half under me and half on top, which allowed the seat to be a bit more comfortable than laying on it on its own. The inflight entertainment system had trouble functioning on both flights.



AIR CANADA BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009   by Julia Jones

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

SYD-YYR. The design of the pods is adequate for solo travellers but less convenient for people travelling together. I think Air Canada call this "Executive First" class which is wishful thinking. Privacy is good when the seat is reclined for sleep, but it is hard and narrow and the pillow is extremely meagre for business class. Lack of storage space for personal effects is also a problem. The reading lights are good but the herringbone layout means they sometimes shine in a neighbouring passenger's face. This is particularly annoying on the overnight flight. The entertainment on offer was disappointing with few, if any, recent movies and some puerile TV comedy shows. The food was good but the very limited wine selection showed effects of Air Canada's cost cutting. I would use this service again, mainly because it offers the convenience of a direct flight from Australia to Canada without the hassles and delays of a transit via the US. I know times are hard in the airline business but I do feel that those little extra touches that we pay so handsomely for in business class should be more in evidence.




 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review


 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.